Ratification of Alcorn nomination to Údarás delayed

The nomination of Fianna Fáil Cllr. David Alcorn to the board of Údarás na Gaeltachta has yet not been ratified, pending the outcome of enquiries into allegations made.

The nomination of Fianna Fáil Cllr. David Alcorn to the board of Údarás na Gaeltachta has yet not been ratified, pending the outcome of enquiries into allegations made.

Donegal County Council had voted 15-11 to nominate Cllr. Alcorn for reappointment to the Údarás board at their regular October meeting.

Dinny McGinley, TD, minister of state for the Gaeltacht, had announced the membership of the new Údarás board on Tuesday of this week. A statement from the minister’s office said the board’s new composition included four members appointed on foot of nominations by county councils that have a Gaeltacht area within their jurisdiction.

“The nomination of Donegal County Council has not been ratified pending the outcome of enquiries regarding certain allegations that have been made,” according to the statement.

“I will be happy to revisit the matter once the process has been completed,” Minister McGinley told the Donegal Democrat yesterday.

Earlier this month, an anonymous letter was sent to members of the media, Údarás and Donegal County Council raising questions about expense claims Cllr. Alcorn filed in 2006, 2008 and 2009.

At the time the allegations were raised, Cllr. Alcorn said he would cooperate fully with Donegal County Council and Údarás in any questions they may have. The councillor told the Donegal Democrat yesterday that he had nothing to add to that statement.

In announcing the new board, Minister McGinley said he was confident they would undertake their duties with diligence.

“While Údarás na Gaeltachta undoubtedly faces challenging times ahead, I am confident that the ability, experience and wide range of skills of all the board members will greatly benefit both Údarás na Gaeltachta and the Gaeltacht community in the coming years,” Minister McGinley said.

Anna Ní Ghallchóir, director of the languages centre in the National University of Ireland, Maynooth, has been appointed as chairperson of the Údarás board.

Other members include Seán Ó Cuireán of An Fál Carrach, Co. Donegal, solicitor and manager of Donegal volunteer centre;

Cathal Seoighe, Doire Longáin, Áth Buí, Co. Meath, former member of Údarás;

Dairíona Nic an Iomaire, principal of Gaelscoil Mhic Amhlaigh in Cnoc na Cathrach, Galway;

Eunan Mac Cuinneagáin, An Charraig, Co. Donegal, regional manager of Westbic in Cill Charthaigh;

Fiachra Ó Ceilleachair, An Rinn, Co. Waterford, former member of Údarás, executive with the Health Service Executive and former member of Waterford County Council and Dungarvan Town Council;

Ian Mac Aindriú, Béal an Mhuirthead, Co. Mayo, former member of Údarás;

Micheál Ó Scanaill, Baile Bhuirne, Co. Cork, businessman, former school teacher and former member of Údarás;

Pádraig Ó hAinifín, An Daingean, Co. Kerry, businessman;

Séamus Cosaí Mac Gearailt, Na Gleannta, An Daingean, Co. Kerry, county councillor and former member of Údarás; and Seosamh Ó Laoi, An Spidéal, Co. Galway, county councillor.

If you have a story or want to send a photo or video to us please contact the Donegal Live editorial team any time. To contact Donegal Democrat and Donegal People's Press, email editorial@donegaldemocrat.ie To contact Donegal Post, email editor@donegalpost.com To contact Inish Times, email editor@inishtimes.com.

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.