Letterkenny takes 17 counts to seat 10 councillors

Letterkenny takes 17 counts to seat 10 councillors
It was a fight for the last seat in Letterkenny, but Sinn Féin Cllr Mick Quinn finished ahead of independent candidate Donal Cullen in the 17th count on Monday morning.

It was a fight for the last seat in Letterkenny, but Sinn Féin Cllr Mick Quinn finished ahead of independent candidate Donal Cullen in the 17th count on Monday morning.

The last remaining candidates, their families and supporters left the Aura Leisure Centre in Letterkenny at about 5.30am on Monday.

Ten-year Donegal County Council veteran, Fine Gael’s Noel McBride, lost his seat in the 15th count. His party colleague, outgoing Letterkenny town Councillor Jimmy Kavanagh, was elected to the county council on the 16th count after a big boost from the distribution of Cllr. McBride’s votes.

It was also a good night for independents, with Donegal Mayor, Cllr. Ian McGarvey; Deputy Mayor, Cllr. Michael McBride, and candidates John O’Donnell and Dessie Shiels all taking seats on the incoming council.

Outgoing Letterkenny town councillor, Gerry McMonagle of Sinn Féin, also took a seat on the county council.

Fianna Fáil will send three councillors to Lifford: Cllr. Liam Blaney, Cllr Ciaran Brogan and candidate James Pat McDaid. Outgoing Fianna Fáil Cllr. Dessie Larkin did not contest the election.

There were 22 candidates in all, competing for 10 seats in the Letterkenny Electoral Area.

Pádraig MacLochlainn, Sinn Féin TD for Donegal North East, said the local elections in Donegal were a milestone for the party.

“We never had two councillors before in an electoral area,” he said. Now they have two councillors in four out of five electoral areas.

”That’s a big deal,” Deputy MacLochlainn said.

Joe McHugh, Fine Gael TD for Donegal North East, had said Fine Gael councillors nationally had paid the price for a message the voters were sending government. Cllr. McBride agreed.

Cllr. McBride said he and his Fine Gael colleagues Cllr. John Boyle and Cllr Mickey Doherty, who also lost their seats, were victims of the backlash.

“The councillors I named are hard-working councillors, councillors who always worked for their communities and gave their communities their undivided attention,” Cllr. McBride said.

Cllr Kavanagh said he was pleased that he had been so “transfer-friendly” within Letterkenny. He attributed his result, in part, to Letterkenny voters seeking to keep councillors in the town because of the loss of the town council.

Cllr. Brogan was very happy with the Fianna Fáil result.

“We took three of the first four seats -- that’s very strong,” he said. He noted that Mr McDaid came late to the race and said his team deserved a lot of credit.

Cllr Michael McBride said he knew as long as he was able to pick up transfers steadily, he would do well. Pointing to Cllrs Kavanagh and McMonagle, and Mr. McDaid, he said, “People who picked up solid transfers all day long, they got elected.”

The Letterkenny Electoral Area poll at the end of Count 17

Cllr. Liam Blaney (FF) 1719 Elected first count

John O’Donnell (Ind) 1719 Elected fourth count

Cllr. Ciaran Brogan (FF) 1719 Elected sixth count

James Pat McDaid (FF) 1719 Elected 13th count

Cllr. Ian McGarvey (Ind) 1744 Elected 14th count

Cllr. Jimmy Kavanagh (FG) 1719 Elected 16th count

Cllr. Michael McBride (Ind) 1698 Elected 17th count

Dessie Shiels (Ind) 1573 Elected 17th count

Cllr. Gerry McMonagle (SF) 1552 Elected 17th count

Cllr. Mick Quinn (SF) 1304 Elected 17th count

Donal Cullen (Ind) 1258

Cllr. Noel McBride (FG) 1040

Cllr. Paschal Blake (Ind) 957

Charlie McClafferty (Ind) 800

John Watson (FF) 622

David Fisher (Ind) 537

Grace Boyle (FG) 503

Tom Crossan (LRP) 488

Christopher Galligan (Lab) 419

Siobhan McLaughlin (Lab) 353

Peter Cutliffe (Ind) 225

Billy Banda (PBP) 183

If you have a story or want to send a photo or video to us please contact the Donegal Live editorial team any time. To contact Donegal Democrat and Donegal People's Press, email editorial@donegaldemocrat.ie To contact Donegal Post, email editor@donegalpost.com To contact Inish Times, email editor@inishtimes.com.

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.