27 Jun 2022

Malin continue impressive form with win over Letterkenny Gaels

Malin lead the way in Division 2 after another fine win on Saturday evening

Malin continue blistering start to Division 2 with win over Gaeil Fhánada

Malin are the form team in Division 2 of the All-County Football League

Malin’s impressive run of form continued when they accounted for Letterkenny Gaels on Saturday evening at Connolly Park.

Malin 1-13

Letterkenny Gaels 0-6

Malin raced into an early three-point lead with Christy McLaughlin, Stephen McLaughlin and Sean Kelly on target.

With the Gaels rearguard struggling to come to grips with the speedy Malin forwards, some great interplay between Stephen and Benny Fildara, resulted in the latter stretching the lead to four

The Cathedral Town side dragged themselves back into the game with two placed efforts from Ronan Frain, one of which was a superbly struck effort wide on the left.

Malin soon raced into a fivepoint advantage, Josh Conlon getting his name on the scoresheet from a free.

Benny Fildara pushed Malin further ahead before Terence Doherty was on the mark to get this first of the evening.

Frain kept the visitors in touch with another point from a placed ball before Christy Fildara brought the scoring to an end for the half leaving Malin with a commanding 0-8 0-3 lead at the interval.

Malin bagged a goal when a long range effort from Sean Kelly fell short and Seamus Houghton beat Shane Graham to the ball at the edge of square to flick home and effectively end the game as a contest.

Conor O’Neill had a goal chance in the dying seconds to increase the advantage but he dragged his shot wide of the post.

Malin scorers: Seamus Houghton 1-0; Christy McLaughlin, Benny McLaughlin 0-3; Josh Conlon (1f), Stephen McLaughlin 0-2; Terence Doherty, Sean Kelly, Conor O’Neill 0-1.

Letterkenny Gaels scorers: Ronan Frain (4f) 0-5; Cormac Cannon 0-1.

Malin: Daniel Mullarkey; Gary Farren, Ciaran Doherty, Conor Farren; Adam McGonagle, John Gerard McLaughlin, Paul Mc Laughlin; Daniel Houghton, Christy McLaughlin; Josh Conlon, Sean Kelly, Stephen McLaughlin; Benny McLaughlin, Terence Doherty, Damian Harkin. Subs used: Conor O’Neill, John C Doherty, Conor McLaughlin, Matthew Mullarkey, Christopher Doherty.

Letterkenny Gaels: Shane Graham; Stephen O’Brien, Conor Browne, Liam McAlary; Peter Doherty, Shaun Crossan, Conor Walker; Darren Hunter, Paddy Doherty; Shaun McGilloway; Sean Mc Donagh, Diarmiud O Cathaill; Ronan Frain, Shay Doherty, Kevin Langan. Subs used: Conor Cullen, Cormac Cannon, Peter Doherty, Keelin Margey, Jamie Callaghan, Fionnan Lynch.

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.