25 Jun 2022

Five-star Naomh Conaill cruise to win at Cloughaneely

Martin Regan's team are honing in on the Donegal SFC, which will be drawn this week, with a ruthless display in Falcarragh

Five-star Naomh Conaill cruise to win at Cloughaneely

Naomh Conaill pictured before the Donegal Comórtas Peile na Gaeltachta final last month

Naomh Conaill went through the gears to post a comfortable win over Cloughaneely in Falcarragh.

Cloughaneely 0-6
Naomh Conaill 5-14

Days out from the Donegal SFC draw, the Glenties based team look to be turning the screw with Ciaran Thompson, Jeaic Mac Ceallabhuí and Ethan O’Donnell back from county duties to boost their chances further. Brendan McDyer top-scored with 2-3, while Paul McGuinness, Charles McGuinness and John O’Malley also netted.

The visitors were quick to find their groove, with Odhran Doherty kicking two early points following a mark from McDyer, which opened the scoring. On eight minutes, Paul McGuiness steered home the opening goal of the match when he shot past Shaun McClafferty after the home defence failed to deal with the aerial threat of Charles McGuinness.

A second goal arrived on 17 minutes, with Charles McGuinness the scorer, finishing off a flowing move that had McDyer and Dermot Molloy involved, which made for a 2-4 to 0-2 lead. Cloughaneely’s scores came from Cillian Gallagher and Shaun Curran. 

Martin Regan’s team went in at the break with a 2-8 to 0-2 advantage, with both Charles and Paul McGuinness, as well as  Molloy and McDyer, scoring late on in the half.

McDyer tucked home a third goal seven minutes into part two when he returned the ball first time when McClafferty had opted to punch with Naomh Conaill not afraid to vary their play with Charles McGuinness inside.

McDyer was played in again on 40 minutes and his finish for a fourth goal for Naomh Conaill was also emphatic, smashing above McClafferty for a 4-10 to 0-2 advantage. 

Jason McGee and Ciaran Coll popped over points for the hosts, either side of a three-minute delay when referee Martin Coll accidentally ran into Ethan O’Donnell and landed awkwardly. Five minutes from time, O’Malley, from a pass by O’Donnell, hit Naomh Conaill’s fifth goal.

Cloughaneely scorers: Cillian Gallagher, Shaun Curran, Jason McGee and Ciaran Coll, Blake McGarvey and Michael Mulhern 0-1. 
Naomh Conaill scorers: Brendan McDyer 2-3, 1m;  Paul McGuinness and John O’Malley 1-1; Charles McGuinness 1-1, 45; Dermot Molloy 0-3; Odhran Doherty 0-2, Jeaic Mac Ceallabhuí, Ciaran Thompson and Ethan O’Donnell 0-1.

Cloughaneely: Shaun McClafferty; Noel Sweeney, Lee O’Brien, Fionn McGinley; Cian McFadden, Michael Fitzgerald, Shaun Curran; Jason McGee, Mark Harley; Martin Maguire, John Fitzgerald, Cillian Gallagher; Blake McGarvey, Ciaran Scanlon,  Sean McGuire. Subs:  Paul Sweeney for J Fitzgerald (22), Ciaran McGeady for Gallagher (half-time), Michael Mulhern and Ciaran Coll for McGuire and Scanlon (41), Gallagher for Harley (49)

Naomh Conaill: Stephen McGrath; Cian Doherty, Kevin McGettigan, Stephen Molloy; Ethan O’Donnell, Keelan McGill, Hugh Gallagher; Ciaran Thompson, Jeaic Mac Ceallabhuí; Eunan Doherty, Dermot Molloy, Odhran Doherty; Brendan McDyer, Charles McGuinness, Paul McGuinness. Subs: Daniel Gildea for P McGuinness (39), AJ Gallagher, John O’Malley, Nathan Byrne and Jason Campbell for McDyer, O Doherty, C Doherty and McGettigan (54).

Referee: Martin Coll (Gaoth Dobhair)

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.