27 Jun 2022

McBrearty back for Kilcar and in scoring form in second half in Ardara

Kilcar win again as they go second in the table

McBrearty back for Kilcar and in scoring form in second half in Ardara

Conor Classon gets a good grip on Andrew McClean's shirt in Pearse Park Picture: Thomas Gallagher

After a lack-lustre first half, Kilcar were too strong for Ardara in their league encounter in Pearse Park.

Ardara 0-6

Kilcar 1-11

A goal from Darragh O'Donnell eight minutes into the second half put Kilcar on their way with Ciaran McGinley providing the pass.

Patrick McBrearty, back on club duty, was very much at home, finding the range on eight occasions over the course of the game.

Ardara had the strong wind in their backs in the opening half and with Conor Classon outstanding, they were 0-5 to 0-2 ahead at the break.

However, they would only manage one second half point and that coming in the 59th minute as Kilcar took complete control. The first half points for Ardara came from Kevin White and Conor Classin in the first five minutes while Paul Walsh accounted for the other three, one from play and two frees in the final six minutes of the half. 

Patrick McBrearty from play and a free had the Kilcar points.

With the wind at their backs, Kilcar had an easy run home against an Ardara side that were minus CJ and John Ross Molloy and lost Paddy McGrath to a hamstring injury midway through the first half.

Ardara scorers: Paul Walsh 0-4,3f; Conor Classon, Kevin Whyte 0-1 each.

Kilcar scorers: Patrick McBrearty 0-8,2f,m; Darragh O'Donnell 1-1; Jason Campbell, Ryan McHugh 0-1 each.

ARDARA: Matthew McGlynn; Shane Whyte, Joe Melly, Conor  Gallagher; Matthew Sweeney, Paddy McGrath, Nicholas Breslin; Robbie Adair, Conor Classon; Paul Walsh, Thomas Boyle, Keelan Malley; Kevin Whyte, Lorcan O'Donnell, Oisin O'Donnell. Subs: Tony Harkin for P McGrath; Nicholas Maguire for L O'Donnell; Gareth Concarr for Malley; Zach Gallagher for M Sweeney.

KILCAR: Kevin Campbell; Ryan McShane, Brian O'Donnell, Pauric Carr; Daniel Lyons, Andrew McClean, Barry Shovlin; Jason Campbell, Ciaran McGinley; Kenny  Doogan, Ryan McHugh, Eoin Cormack; Ryan O'Donnell, Patrick McBrearty, Darragh O'Donnell. Subs: Dylan O'Gara for B O'Donnell; Stephen McBrearty for C McGinley; Gary Molloy for K Doogan; Conor O'Donnell for Cormack.

REFEREE: Marc Brown (Four Masters)

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.