27 Jun 2022

Termon relegated to Division 2 with defeat at Killybegs

Ten defeats on the spin mean the side managed by Francie Friel and Johnny McGinley will be playing Division 2 football next season

Killybegs pip Milford in Fintra in Donegal SFC

Killybegs struck late to relegate Termon

There was late drama at Eamonn Byrne Memorial Park, Fintra as Termon's stay in the top flight ended with 10th straight defeat.

Killybegs 2-11
Termon 0-13

Termon claimed that they had a late goal with the two umpires disputing whether the ball was over the line and referee Val Murray was in the unenviable position of having to decide from out the field.

The goal would have brought Termon level but it was not to be as Killybegs closed out the game with a  late point from Ryan Cunningham.

The Fishermen had their two county players - Eoghan Bán Gallagher and Hugh McFadden - back in action and they started brightly with a Jack McSharry palming home a goal, set up by the Cunninghams and Hugh McFadden.

They held a two point advantage at the break, 1-5 to 0-6 but Termon came back in the second half to take the lead at 0-11 to 1-7 and 0-13 to 1-8. But a second goal from  Ryan Cunningham  and some good points from Hugh McFadden put the home side back in control.

Still it remained close and the final drama was cruel on Termon, who went down fighting. 

Killybegs scorers: Ryan Cunninghan 1-3; Conor Cunningham 0-4,3f,m; Jack McSharry 1-1; Hugh McFadden 0-3,1f; 

Termon scorers: Daire McDaid 0-6; Stephen Black 0-3; Enda McCormick 0-3; Anthony Grant 0-1.

Killybegs: Corey Byrne; Darragh McClean, Cillian Gildea, Owen Gallagher; Charlie Breslin, Christopher Cunningham, Ryan Carr; Shaun Gorrell, Jon Bán Gallagher; Eoghan Bán Gallagher, Jack McSharry, Odhran McGuinness; Ryan Cunningham, Hugh McFadden, Conor Cunningham. Subs: Kevin Boyle and Timmy Gorrell for D McClean and S Gorrell.

Termon: Darragh Russell; Oisin Cassidy, Cormac Gallagher, Shane Callaghan; Patrick  McDaid, Jimmy Gallagher, Jack Alcorn; Kevin McDaid, Ricky Gallagher; Conor Cassidy,  Stephen Black, Enda McCormick Daire Referee: Val Murray (Aodh Ruadh)

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.