Naomh Columba from behind to snatch a dramatic draw

The locals were five points down at half-time

Naomh Columba from behind to snatch a dramatic draw

Pauric Ward, Naomh Columba and Niall Murray, Aodh Ruadh in action

Gavin McGinley was Naomh Columba’s saviour as Naomh Columba fought back from five points down at half time to earn a share of the points at Pairc na nGael, this afternoon.

Naomh Columba ……… 0-11

Aodh Ruadh……………..0-11

Aodh Ruadh dominated the opening half and led 0-7 to 0-2 at half-time courtesy of points from Nathan Boyle and Shane Ward. Ryan Gillespie and Pauric Ward scored the first half Naomh Columba points.

Padraig Byrne and Daniel Warnock traded early points just after half-time before former county man Michael Maguire took the game to Aodh Ruadh.

And  with Pauric Ward, Ryan Gillespie (2) and Padraig Byrne rising to the challenge the locals hit five unanswered points to reduce the Aodh Ruadh lead to the bare minimum.

However, the Ernesiders refused to buckle and with Diarmuid McInerney and Darren Drummond raising white flags they went back in front again by three, going into the closing minutes.

Ward got forward to knock over his third of the day with six minutes remaining on the clock. But Nathan Boyle looked to have secured the points for the visitors with the clock ticking. But in the closing minutes Paddy Byrne converted a 45 before Gavin McGinley made no mistake to tie up the contest.

Aodh Ruadh had a late chance but Peter Boyle’s effort just drifted wide as the final whistle sounded.

NAOMH COLUMBA: Shane O’Gara;  Philip McNern, Phillip Doherty; Barry Carr; Pauric Ward (0-3), Michael Maguire, Stephen Jones; Padraig Byrne (0-3,2f,1’45), Fionn Gallagher; Ryan McNern, Declan McGuire,Ryan Gillespie (0-3,2f); Ronan Gillespie (0-1), Pauric O’Neill, Kieran McBrearty Subs; Gavin McGinley (0-1) for D McGuire; Martin Cunningham for S Jones; Christopher Byrne for P O’ Neill

AODH RUADH:Peter Boyle; Calum O’Halloran, Colm Kelly, Michael Ward; Daniel Warnock, (0-1), Johnny Gallagher, Johnny Gethins; Cian Dolan, Eamon McGrath; Diarmuid McInerney (0-1), Niall Murray, Nathan Boyle (0-6,3f,1’45); Michael McKenna, Darren Drummond (0-1) Shane McGrath (0-2). Sub:Patrick Gillespie for N Murray

REFEREE: Mark Brown (Four Masters)

If you have a story or want to send a photo or video to us please contact the Donegal Live editorial team any time. To contact Donegal Democrat and Donegal People's Press, email To contact Donegal Post, email To contact Inish Times, email

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.