Ardara post useful Division One win at Glenswilly

Ardara post useful Division One win at Glenswilly
Ardara still have plenty of work to do to work their way out of relegation trouble but Sunday’s result was a good one in Glenswilly.

Ardara still have plenty of work to do to work their way out of relegation trouble but Sunday’s result was a good one in Glenswilly.

Glenswilly 1-6

Ardara 0-13

The side from Pearse Park had only picked up two points thus far this season in the All-county Football League Division One but seven points from Tomás Boyle earned the win at Glenswilly.

Ardara had the wind in the first half and were in a decent position, 0-6 to 1-0 up at half-time. Boyle scored all but one of that total, with Michael Maloney the other point scorer.

At the other end, Glenswilly weren’t having much success in front of the posts but their hopes were boosted when Christopher McMonagle pickpocketed Ardara goalkeeper Declan Gallagher, slapping a 10th minute goal.

With the changing of ends, Glenswilly would’ve privately fancied themselves to wear down their arrears but Ardara were still offensively dangerous.

This came after both Conor Classon and CJ Molloy were black-carded in the first half.

After the break, Kieran Breslin scored two points and Gareth Concarr also got his name on the scoresheet.

Glenswilly only played in fits and starts and although minus the talismanic presence of Neil Gallagher and Michael Murphy after their exploits in the county colours on Saturday, were still a little flat.

Ciaran Bonner and Coalan Kelly kicked two decent scores at the start of part two but those failed to ignite the Glenswilly fuse.

Michael Canning threw goalkeeper Philip O’Donnell in at full-forward from the bench but again, the hosts weren’t prolific enough to claw their way back in.

Kelly, Gary McFadden, Brian Farrelly and Paul O’Brien all hit points in the closing stages but John McConnell’s Ardara made most of their travels to post an encouraging win on the road

Glenswilly: Gerard McGrenra; Ruairi Crawford, Eamon Ward, Ryan Hunter; Ryan Diver, Cormac Callaghan, Joe Gibbons; Ciaran Bonner (0-1), Cathal Gallagher; Oisin Crawford, Gary McFadden (0-1,1f), Caolan Kelly (0-2); Darren McGinley, Brian Farrelly (0-1), Christopher McMonagle (1-0). Subs: Ethan Sweeney for McMonagle (35 ), Philip O’Donnell for McGinley (40 ), Paul O’Brien (0-1) for Hunter (49 ), Caomhin Marley for Diver (61 ).

Ardara: Declan Gallagher; Nicholas Maguire, Declan Gavigan, John Ross Molloy; Peter McNelis, Conor Classon, Michael Maloney (0-1); Brendan Boyle, Kenneth Doherty; Jack Brennan, Gareth Concarr (0-1), Tomas Boyle (0-7,6fs); Kieran Breslin (0-2), CJ Molloy, Ryan Malley. Subs: Martin Shovlin (0-2) for Classon (17 Black Card), Jimmy O’Connell for CJ Molloy (21 Black Card), Oisin O’Donnell for Maloney (51 ).

Referee: M McShane (Kilcar).

If you have a story or want to send a photo or video to us please contact the Donegal Live editorial team any time. To contact Donegal Democrat and Donegal People's Press, email To contact Donegal Post, email To contact Inish Times, email

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.