Epic entry sets sail for Big Saturday Rally in Killybegs on Saturday

Formula 1 Commentator flies in to compete as tribute to an old friend

Epic entry sets sail for Big Saturday Rally in Killybegs on Saturday

Martin Howley with Tony Jardine

Three Donegal International Rally winners head huge field as biggest one day rally in the country provides finale for three Rally Championships.

The Organisers of the Bayview Hotel Martin Howley Memorial Harvest Stages Rally have released details of the entry list and itinerary for the Rally, now officially regarded as the biggest one day rally held in the country this year.
Clerk of the Course Karl Reid commented:
“The quality of our entry is fantastic. I am not sure if we have ever had three Donegal International Rally winners as the top three seeds on the Harvest Rally in WRC cars. Number one seed Declan Boyle will be followed off the line by Garry Jennings and 2016 winner Manus Kelly for what looks like a blistering days’ motorsport. “
“Right behind them comes multiple National Championship winner Niall Maguire in another WRC car. It’s an epic entry, right through the field and in every class.  The Modified class is a rally in itself, with Club Chairman Brian Brogan, fresh from a brilliant win in the National part of the Cork 20 at the weekend, taking his place among the hottest of categories.”
“Formula 1 commentator Tony Jardine is flying in from London to take part in the rally. He was due to take part in the Donegal International Rally last June but changed to the Harvest when he heard that it was to be named in Martin’s honour. They were great friends and he drove Martin’s rally car on the 2015 International Rally. He will be carrying a special tribute to him on his car.”
“ At the last count we had 164 entries in the main field plus 8 Junior entries. The numbers will fluctuate a little before the start but it is easily the biggest entry for a National Rally in the country this year.  The organising team is flat out and we are looking at a record day in Killybegs.”
“Our list of Rally programme retailers is now available online and Rally programmes with maps, entry lists and other information are currently on sale. We have released a rally guide and a time and distance schedule online to help competitors with essential information.”
“We want to acknowledge the help from everyone in Killybegs and all the areas affected by the rally stages. We are also working closely with An Garda Siochana and would ask everyone attending to help us make sure that we enjoy a safe and enjoyable event in Killybegs this weekend.”
“We are once again asking for anyone who can act as a marshal to contact the Chief Marshal for the Harvest Rally, Mr. Francie Devine on +353-87-620-5328 and on +44-785-108-4821 as strong spectator numbers are expected.”
Event Secretary Yvonne Watters may be contacted on: harvestrallysecretary@gmail.com

Top 30 Seeded Entry List

2016 Harvest Rally Seeded Entry List
Car No   Driver Navigator  Car  Class
1  Declan Boyle  Brian Boyle  Fiesta WRC  7
2 Garry Jennings  Rory Kennedy Impreza WRC 7
3  Manus Kelly  Gareth Doherty  Impreza WRC   7
4  Niall Maguire  Enda Sherry  Impreza S12B  7
5  Joseph Mc Gonigle Ciaran Geaney  Skoda R5  5
6  Brendan Comiskey  Ronan O Kane  Fiesta R5  5
7  Frank Wray  Joe Mc Nulty  Impreza WRC  15
8  Gary Kiernan  Ryan Moore  Escort  14
9 Declan Gallagher  James Mc Nulty  Starlet  13
10  Chris Armstrong  Chris Melly  Escort  14
11  Brian Brogan  Damien Mc Gettigan  Escort  14
12 Damien Toner  Denver Rafferty   Escort  14
14  Damien Gallagher  Mac Walsh  Escort 14
15  J F Shovelin  Terence Furey  Impreza WRC   7
16  Enda Mc Cormack  Colin Fitzgerald  Impreza WRC  7
17 Aidan Wray  Kieran Mc Grath  Evo X  4
18  Trevor Bustard  John Mc Cafferty  Evo 9   4
19  Ryan Loughran   Brendan Mc Elhinney  Escort  14
20  Paul Purtill  Raymond Scott  Escort  13
21  Shane Maguire  Mac Kierans  Evo 9  4
22  Michael Carbin  Conor Mahon  Evo 4  20
23  John Bonner  Leon Jordan  Escort  13
24  Columba Heena  Michael Mc Clafferty  Corolla  13
25  Patrick Mc Hugh  Pauric O Donnell  Escort  13
26  Dessie Keenan   James Mc Carville  Escort  11R
27  Mark Boyle Charles Gallagher Evo 9  4
28  Tommy Doyle  Liam Moynihan  Clio R3  13  
29  Andrew Stewart  Fabian Mc Shane  Skoda S2000  5
30  Paul Rowley  Brian Doherty  Skoda S2000  5


Donegal Town Area
Robert Kee Filling Station Laghy

McIntyre's Filling Station  

Texaco Filling Station  


Killybegs Area
Floyds Dunkineely

Barry's Bruckless  

Tamway Filling Station (Gabriel)  


Hegarty Centra  


Curren's Costcutters  


Hegarty Centra  

Byrnes Shop  



Byrnes Shop



Byrnes Shop  


Darnell Filling Station  

Maloney Filling Station  



Kernans Top Filling Station  



Brogans Dry Arch  


Gallagher XL

If you have a story or want to send a photo or video to us please contact the Donegal Live editorial team any time. To contact Donegal Democrat and Donegal People's Press, email editorial@donegaldemocrat.ie To contact Donegal Post, email editor@donegalpost.com To contact Inish Times, email editor@inishtimes.com.

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.