Ryan McHugh is Donegal Player of the Year


Ryan McHugh is Donegal Player of the Year

Donegal Player of the Year Ryan McHugh

Donegal All-Star Ryan McHugh has been named as the Donegal Player of the Year. He will be presented with his award at the annual GAA Banquet, which will be held in the Abbey Hotel, Donegal Town on Saturday week, 3rd December.

Tickets for the event are now on sale.

On the night also, the Gradam Seamus Mhic Geidigh for the Player of the Club Championship, which is sponsored by RTE Raidio na Gaeltachta, will be presented. The winner's name has not yet been revealed, but the voting has taken place. The award was decided by the Donegal media.

The senior hurler of the year award is going to Danny Cullen, while Ciara Hegarty is named as the Lady Player of the year.

The full list of winners of awards for 2016 are:

Senior Player Ryan McHugh Cill Chartha   Derryveagh Crystal

Hurler Danny Cullen (Setanta) Derryveagh Crystal

Grounds Naomh Adhamhnain Plaque

Senior Club Glenswilly Plaque

Intermediate   Burt Plaque

Junior Downings Plaque

Lady Footballer Ciara Hegarty Moville Derryveagh Crystal

Gaeltachta   Gaoth Dobhair Derryveagh Crystal

Outside Gaeltachta Naomh Ultan Derryveagh Crystal

Service to Culture Award   Annmarie Sheerin (Naomh Naille) Derryveagh Crystal

Lifetime achievement Naul McCole Derryveagh Crystal

Referee Award    Shaun Mc Laughlin  (Malin) Derryveagh Crystal

Handball Award   Avril Mc Namee (MacCumhaills) Derryveagh Crystal

If you have a story or want to send a photo or video to us please contact the Donegal Live editorial team any time. To contact Donegal Democrat and Donegal People's Press, email editorial@donegaldemocrat.ie To contact Donegal Post, email editor@donegalpost.com To contact Inish Times, email editor@inishtimes.com.

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.