Donegal man among the appointees on Council of State

Seán Ó Cuirreáin appointed by President

Donegal man among the appointees on Council of State

Seán Ó Cuirreáín has been appointed by President Michael D Higgins to be a member of the Council of State.
The Council of State acts in an advisory capacity to the President. It consists of seven individuals of the President’s choosing, alongside government officials and former officeholders. Current members of the Council include Taoiseach Leo Varadkar, and former Presidents Mary McAleese and Mary Robinson.
The President is required to consult the Council before carrying out certain functions, such as convening a meeting of the Dáil, the Seanad, or both.
Sinéad Burke, Dr Sindy Joyce, Dr Cara Augustenborg, Dr Mary Murphy, Rev Dr Johnston McMaster and Maurice Malone are among those appointed to the council.
A former journalist, broadcaster and deputy head of RTÉ Raidió na Gaeltachta Seán Ó Cuirreáin was appointed as language commissioner in 2004 and was re-appointed to the position in 2010. He is also the author of the book ‘Maamtrasna.’

If you have a story or want to send a photo or video to us please contact the Donegal Live editorial team any time. To contact Donegal Democrat and Donegal People's Press, email To contact Donegal Post, email To contact Inish Times, email

More News


Bundoran comes up in the poll as one of the favourite staycation locations

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.