Crowded field in south Donegal

Focus on the Donegal local electoral area

Counting underway shortly in Letterkenny and Sligo

Donegal local electoral area - six seats


Tom Conaghan (Ind)

Noel Jordan (SF)

Michael McMahon (SF)

John McNulty (FG)

Barry Sweeny (FG)

John J Boyle (FG)

Cyril Brennan (People Before Profit)

Justin Coughlin (Ind)

Seán Ó Beirne  (Ind)

Michéal Naughton  FF

Niamh Kennedy (Ind)

Diarmaid Doherty (Ind)

Philip McGlynn (FF)

Roger Meehan (FF)

Eimear McGuinness (FF)

Billy Grimes (Ind)

Pauric Kennedy (Ind)

Valerie McNulty (Ind)

Seamus Maguire (Ind)

Voters in the Donegal electoral area will have the most choice of any in the county in this Friday’s poll.
The electoral area has the most crowded field in the local elections for Donegal County Council with 19 candidates fighting for six seats.
Only three sitting councillors who ran in 2014 are standing again: poll topper Niamh Kennedy, Noel Jordan and Tom Conaghan.
The late Sean McEniff was replaced by Micheál Naughton. Barry O’Neill (FG) did not run and independent John Campbell stood down earlier this year and was co-opted by Seamus Maguire.

Both Fine Gael and Fianna Fáil are running with an ambitious four-candidate strategy.

Twelve of the candidates are located between Donegal town and Bundoran. Candidates in that area took over 8,000 first-preference votes in 2014.

There will be a particularly hard-fought battle in Donegal town which is home to four candidates. With two sitting councillors located in nearby Mountcharles and Laghey, there will be stiff competition for votes in the town and surrounding areas.

In Bundoran, this will be the first county council election since 1967 that Sean McEniff’s name is not on the ballot paper. The Fianna Fáil politician, who passed away in 2017 at the age of 81, had been elected to every local election since 1967. Three candidates in the town will be fighting to win a seat.

Ballyshannon will also see an intriguing contest. Fine Gael councillor Barry O’Neill is stepping down leaving a seat that he has held since 2004. Four candidates from the town will be vying to replace him.
Seven candidates are based beyond Donegal town in the west of the electoral and there will be a stiff battle there for seats.
Fine Gael and Fianna Fail are both running ambitious campaigns in an electoral area where they only hold one seat each.
Fianna Fáil is running four candidates and Fine Gael are putting three forward in an electoral area where they each lost a seat in 2014. Sinn Féin is running just two candidates.

If you have a story or want to send a photo or video to us please contact the Donegal Live editorial team any time. To contact Donegal Democrat and Donegal People's Press, email To contact Donegal Post, email To contact Inish Times, email

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.