Glenties Municipal District proving exceptionally interesting ahead of the local elections

Five councillors looking to retain their seats

The Glenties Municipal District proves exceptionally interesting ahead of the local elections

Glenties Municipal District


John Sheamais Ó Fearraigh (SF)

Marie Therese Gallagher (SF)

Brian Carr (SF)

Evelyn Sweeney (FG)

Liam Mulligan (Aontú)

Enda Bonner (FF)

Anthony Molloy (FF)

Noreen McGarvey (FF)

Seamus Ó Domhnaill (FF)

Seamus Rodgers (Lab)

Michael McClafferty (FG)

Micheál Choilm Mac GiollaEasbuig (Ind)

Liam Whyte (Ind)

The Glenties Municipal Area will prove a very interesting area in the upcoming elections with five sitting councillors among the 13 candidates who are vying for six seats.

The five councillors who hope to return to their seats are John Sheamais Ó Fearraigh (SF),  Marie Therese Gallagher (SF), Michéal Choilm MacGiolla Easbuig (Ind), Seamus Ó Domhnaill (FF) and Enda Bonner (FF).

Terence Slowey left his seat on the council this year.

One of the main stories in the run-up to the local elections in this municipal area surrounded Fianna Fáil councillor Enda Bonner who failed to get a nomination at the party selection convention. He lost out in a vote to Noreen McGarvey who has worked for Deputy Pat ‘the Cope' Gallagher for ten years. However, Mr Bonner was subsequently put on the ticket by party headquarters.

There have been suggestions that the move is one that could split the vote and possibly cost the party a seat. Fianna Fáil are fielding the most candidates in the area. Ardara-based Anthony Molloy is also running for the party south of the Gweebara alongside Liam Whyte (Ind) and Brian Carr (SF) from Glenties. This area is known for returning one candidate. Whichever one of the three stays ahead has a very good chance of gaining a seat.

The area between the Gweebarra and Crolly bridge will be one of fierce competition. In this area, you have Enda Bonner, Marie Therese Gallagher, Micheal Choilm MacGiolla Easbuig all defending their seats plus first-time candidate Noreen McGarvey and a veteran of many battles Seamus Rodgers.

It looks like Micheal Choilm MacGiolla Easbuig and Marie Therese Gallagher will both be elected early with MacGiolla Easbuig possibly topping the poll.

The majority of the electorate resides in the area spanning from Gaoth Dobhair to Creeslough. Sitting councillors Ó Fearraigh and Ó Domhnaill are seeking re-election alongside Evelyn Sweeney (FG), Micheal McClafferty (FG) along with Liam Mulligan (Aontú).

Cllr Séamus Ó Domhnaill looks to have a good chance of retaining his seat, as does SF Councillor John Shéamais Ó Fearraigh. However, Ó Fearraigh could face a strong challenge from FG candidate Evelyn Sweeney who will benefit from the support of the party electorate and will garner votes from the area surrounding the SF candidate. This is an area that elected former Deputy and Minister Dinny McGinley and former councillor Pádraig Ó Dochartaigh.

Mulligan of Aontú is expected to poll well in the area and may take votes from some of main parties due to the pro-life stance.

The Glenties Municipal Area holds the record for the poorest intra party transfers, and the greatest record for votes remaining in an area as opposed to party. It is estimated that only 20% of the vote in Glenties stays within the party whereas the national average ranges from 45 to 55%.

If you have a story or want to send a photo or video to us please contact the Donegal Live editorial team any time. To contact Donegal Democrat and Donegal People's Press, email To contact Donegal Post, email To contact Inish Times, email

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.