LIFFORD-STRANORLAR LEA: Another big race on the cards at the Finn Valley Centre

Battle is on for the sixth and final seat

Lifford-Stranorlar LEA

Who's going to take the sixth and final seat in Lifford-Stranorlar?

With the Lifford-Stranorlar LEA count based at the Finn Valley Centre, it’s tempting to use some sporting analogies when predicting today’s proceedings.

With so many of the outgoing councillors polling well according to the tallies, one of the big questions surrounds the sixth and final seat.

At this early stage, it looks to be a battle between Sinn Fein’s Liam Doherty (717) and Fine Gael’s Garvan Connolly (658).

Liam Doherty’s vote, according to the tallies, has shown a drop of around 300 votes from 2014. Five years ago, he was one of three candidates elected without reaching the quota.

But with Connolly so close according to the tally figures, Liam Doherty knows he’s in a battle if the party is to retain two seats in the six-seater Municipal District.

SEE ALSO: McBrearty to arrive as counting gets underway

Connolly will be more than happy with the tally figures, and the Fine Gael party will also be content with their strategy of running three candidates. Between them, Connolly, Martin Harley and Frank McBrearty have polled 3,209 first preference votes (according to the tallies). Back in 2014, the party’s two candidates, Harley and Bert Galbraith polled just 1,830 first preference votes.

Interestingly McBrearty was elected on the first count in 2014 after passing the quota with 1,591 votes as an independent candidate.

This time, the new Fine Gael member polled only 941 first preference votes (according to the tallies), a significant drop of around 600).

Counting of votes has been underway here since just after 9am this morning, with the first count expected to be completed by around 1pm.

Lifford-Stranorlar LEA - six seats


Garvan Connolly (FG) 658

Gerry Crawford (FF) 1,365

Michael De Ward (Ind) 206

Gary Doherty (SF) 1,490

Liam Doherty (SF) 717

Martin Harley (FG) 1,610

John Hartnett (Aontú) 214

Frank McBrearty (FG) 941

Patrick McGowan (FF) 1,542

Alan McMenamin (Ind) 431

Maghnus Monaghan (Renua) 258


If you have a story or want to send a photo or video to us please contact the Donegal Live editorial team any time. To contact Donegal Democrat and Donegal People's Press, email To contact Donegal Post, email To contact Inish Times, email

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.