17 May 2022

4th COUNT - LIFFORD-STRANORLAR LEA: Another twist in the race for the sixth and final seat

Liam Doherty (SF) moves back in front ahead of Garvan Connolly (FG)

Results of fourth count in Lifford-Stranorlar

Sinn Fein's Gary Doherty - elected after the first count - pictured at the Finn Valley Centre on Sunday PICTURE: BRIAN MC DAID

There's been another twist in the race for the sixth and final seat in the Lifford-Stranorlar LEA.

The fourth count saw the distribution of Sinn Fein candidate Gary Doherty's surplus of 165 votes.

It was anticipated that much of his vote would benefit his party colleague Liam Doherty who after the third count, was overtaken by Fine Gael's Garvan Connolly in the battle for the final seat.

However, Liam Doherty is back in front again having picked up 125 votes in this count compared to Garvan Connolly's 11.

It means Liam Doherty sits 6th overall with 924 votes, 67 votes ahead of Connolly.

No candidate reached the quota on this occasion and it's not expected anymore will.

Four candidates have already been elected here at the Finn Valley Centre - Martin Harley (FG), Patrick McGowan (FF), Gary Doherty (SF) and Gerry Crawford (FF).

The fifth count will see the distribution of Gerry Crawford's surplus vote of 62.

Results of fourth count - distribution of Gary Doherty's surplus vote of 165 votes

Quota: 1,406

Connolly Garvan FG +11  . . . 857

De Ward Michael, Non party +5   . . . 241

Doherty Liam, SF +125  . . . 924 

Hartnett John, Aontu +2  . . . 240 

McBrearty Frank, FG +11  . . . 1,052

McMenamin Alan, Non party +6  . . . 537

Monaghan Maghnus, Renua +5  . . . 301 


Elected after the first count

Doherty Gary, SF 1,571

Harley, Martin FG 1,688

McGowan, Patrick FF 1,606

Elected after the third count

Crawford Gerry FF 1,468

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.