19 May 2022

LIFFORD-STRANORLAR LEA: It's down to the wire ahead of the final count

Only 86 votes separating final two candidates in battle for final seat

LIFFORD-STRANORLAR LEA: It's down to the wire ahead of the final count

The 8th and final count is underway in the Lifford-Stranorlar LEA with the final seat still up for grabs.

Following the 7th count, Sinn Fein's Liam Doherty has stretched his lead over Fine Gael's Garvan Connolly to 86 votes. 

But who will win the seat will all depend on the distribution of Independent candidate, Alan McMenamin's 698 votes.

McMenamin was eliminated following the 7th count.

Results of seventh count - distribution of John Hartnett and Maghnus Monaghan's 581 votes

Quota: 1,406

Connolly Garvan FG +57 . . . 950

Doherty Liam, SF +62  . . . 1,036

McBrearty Frank, FG +52 . . . 1,131

McMenamin Alan, Non party +93 . . .698

Non-effective votes in this count - 317


Elected after the first count

Doherty Gary, SF 1,571

Harley, Martin FG 1,688

McGowan, Patrick FF 1,606


Elected after the third count

Crawford Gerry FF 1,468


Eliminated after the 5th count

De Ward, Michael Ind 244


Eliminated after the 6th count

Hartnett John, Aontu 264

Monaghan Maghnus, Renua 317

Eliminated after the 7th count 

McMenamin Alan, Ind 698

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.