27 Sept 2022

DONEGAL LEA - Eighth count sees boost for McMahon from McGlynn's Bundoran votes

Eimear McGuinness (FF) eliminated

Brexit in Killybegs

Fianna Fáil's Eimear McGuinness has been eliminated

Fianna Fáil Killybegs candidate Eimear McGuinness has been eliminated in the eighth count in the Donegal ELA following the distribution of the votes of Philip McGlynn.

The redistribution of her votes will help fellow Killybegs candidate and poll-topper Niamh Kennedy as she heads towards the quota of  2,042.

The count is now on its ninth round with Niamh Kennedy (Ind) on 1,759, leading Noel Jordan (SF) who has 1,693.

Micheál Naughton (FF) and Barry Sweeny are headed for the third and fourth seats.

Michael McMahon (SF) took 256 votes from Philip McGlynn to keep him on course for a second Sinn Féin seat.

Donegal LEA -  eighth count - distribution of the votes of Philip McGlynn.

Quota - 2,042

John J Boyle (FG) 886 +2...888

Tom Conaghan (Ind)  1017 + 11...1028

Billy Grimes (Ind) 989 +54...1043

Noel Jordan (SF) 1690 + 3...1693

Niamh Kennedy (Ind) 1749 +10...1759

Pauric Kennedy (Ind)  780 +3…783

Seamus Maguire (Ind)  939 +0...939

Eimear McGuinness (FF) 591 +40...631

Michael McMahon (SF)  1190 +256...1446

John McNulty (FG)  1148 +5...1153

Michéal Naughton  (FF) 1336 +77...1413

Barry Sweeny (FG) 1264 +89...1353

Eliminated  - Eimear McGuinness (FF) 631 votes

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.