Search our Archive


DONEGAL LEA - Niamh Kennedy to cross the line in next count

John Boyle eliminated

DONEGAL LEA - Niamh Kennedy to cross the line in next count

Niamh Kennedy's long wait to meet the quota is nearly over. PICTURE: Thomas Gallagher

Niamh Kennedy is just 12 short as the 11th count gets underway in Donegal town.

Fine Gael candidate John Boyle has been eliminated and the field of 19 candidates is now down to nine.

Noel Jordan (SF) is still in second place and is 170 votes short of the quota of 2,043.

The battle is now for third and fourth still between Micheál Naughton  (FF) Barry Sweeny (FG).

Michael McMahon is well-placed for the fifth and Tom Conaghan, John McNulty (FG) and outgoing independent councillor Seamus Maguire are in a fight for the sixth seat.

Donegal LEA -  tenth count - distribution of the votes of Pauric Kennedy.

Quota - 2,043

John J Boyle (FG) 870 +31...1001

Tom Conaghan (Ind)  1058 +214...1272

Billy Grimes (Ind) 1050  +7...1057

Noel Jordan (SF) 1731  +142...1873

Niamh Kennedy (Ind) 1938  +93...2031

Seamus Maguire (Ind)  961 +145...1106

Michael McMahon (SF)  1461 +8...1470

John McNulty (FG)  1153 1199 +15...1214

Micheál Naughton  (FF) 1536 +76...1612

Barry Sweeny (FG) 1360  +16...1376

Eliminated  - John Boyle (Ind) 1001 votes

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.