27 Sept 2022

DONEGAL LEA - Sitting councillor Seamus Maguire eliminated on the 13th count

Four seats still to be decided

DONEGAL LEA - Sitting councillor Seamus Maguire eliminated on the 13th count

Seamus Maguire (centre) has lost his seat in the Donegal LEA

Sitting Councillor Seamus Maguire has been eliminated on the 13th count in the Donegal LEA.

The count failed to elect another candidate.

Billy Grimes’s 1,075 transfers gave 485 votes to fellow Ballyshannon candidate Barry Sweeny which leaves him on 1,917 ahead of Michael McMahon (SF) on 1,749 and Fianna Fáil’s Micheál Naughton on 1,742.

Seamus Maguire’s transfers of 1,194 will now be distributed.

Sweeney, McMahon, and Naughton are set to take the next three seats and the last seat will be between Tom Conaghan (IND) and Fine Gael's John McNulty.

Donegal LEA -  13th count - distribution of the votes of Billy Grimes

Quota - 2,043


Tom Conaghan (Ind) 1397 +38...1435

Seamus Maguire (Ind)  1176 +18...1194

Michael McMahon (SF) 1478  +271...1749

John McNulty (FG)  1453 +10...1463

Micheál Naughton  (FF) 1661 +1742

Barry Sweeny (FG) 1432 +485...1917

Eliminated - Seamus Maguire - transfer of 1194 votes

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.