27 Sept 2022

DONEGAL LEA - Four candidates elected on the 14th count

Marathon count ends in the early hours

DONEGAL LEA - Four candidates elected on the 14th count

Michael McMahon (SF) is the one of two new councillors elected in the Donegal LEA

The count has ended in the Donegal LEA with four candidates elected without reaching the quota.

Barry Sweeny (FG), Micheál Naughton (FF), Tom Conaghan (Ind), and Michael McMahon (SF) have all been elected on the 14th count as John McNulty (FG) missed out on a seat in the last round of counting.

The final declaration was made in at the St John Bosco Centre at 1.21am.

The marathon count saw Niamh Kennedy top the poll and cross the line first on the 11th count.

The Killybegs independent councillor was followed by Noel Jordan (SF) who was elected on the 12th count.

The 13th count saw sitting independent councillor Seamus Maguire eliminated to leave Barry Sweeny (FG), Michael McMahon (SF), Micheál Naughton (FF), Tom Conaghan (Ind) and John McNulty (FG) still in contention for the final four seats.

Barry Sweeny and Michael McMahon will be two new faces on the county council.

Donegal LEA -  14th count - distribution of the votes of Seamus Maguire

Quota - 2,043

 Tom Conaghan (Ind) 1435 +396...1831

Michael McMahon (SF) 1749 +49...1798

John McNulty (FG)  1463 + 84...1547

Micheál Naughton  (FF) 1742 +182...1924

Barry Sweeny (FG) 1917  +41...1958

Elected - Barry Sweeny (FG), Micheál Naughton (FF), Tom Conaghan (Ind), Michael McMahon (SF)

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.