Donegal Town man appointed Chairman of ETB

Donegal ETB's Chief Executive Anne McHugh and Chairperson Geoffrey BrowneDonegal ETB's Chief Executive Anne McHugh and Chairperson Geoffrey Browne

Donegal ETB's Chief Executive Anne McHugh and Chairperson Geoffrey BrowneDonegal ETB's Chief Executive Anne McHugh and Chairperson Geoffrey Browne

Geoffrey Browne from Donegal Town has been elected Chairperson of Donegal Education and Training Board (ETB).
The elections took place on Monday afternoon when 21 representatives were appointed to the board.
Mr Browne said: “I am delighted to be elected to this important role with Donegal ETB. It is the largest education and training provider in the county, managing 15 out of the 27 post-primary schools and is the largest provider of Further Education and Training.  
“It also manages Gartan Outdoor Education and Training Centre, the Donegal Music Education Partnership and has legal responsibilities for youth work.
“In 2018 almost 26,000 students and learners availed of education and training through Donegal ETB.
“I look forward to supporting the staff of the ETB to continue this important work.”

The elected representatives are Cllr Rena Donaghey who was elected as Deputy Chairperson, Cllr Ian McGarvey, Cllr Barry Sweeny, Cllr Albert Doherty, Cllr Gary Doherty, Cllr Martin Farren, Cllr Martin Harley, Cllr Donal Coyle, Cllr Michael McBride, Cllr Noreen McGarvey, Cllr Noel Jordan and Cllr John Sheamais Ó Fearraigh.
Staff representatives are Mr Noel Rodden and Ms Joanne Donaghy while parents’ representatives are Mr Geoffrey Browne and Ms Lorraine Doherty.
The remaining five places have been filled by Ms Lorraine Thompson (Donegal Youth Service) representing Youth Work Ireland; Patsy McVicar representing the National Association of Principals and Deputy Principals (NAPD); Regina Grant representing the Disability Federation of Ireland; and industry representatives Brian McDermott (Foyle Hotel) representing the Irish Hospitality Institute and Gerard Grant (Pramerica) who is representing IBEC.

Donegal ETB Chief Executive Anne McHugh said: “I would like to congratulate Geoffrey Browne and Cllr Rena Donaghey on their election as Chairperson and Deputy Chairperson of Donegal ETB.
“We very much welcome all the appointments to our Board.
“Their contribution to the management of Donegal ETB’s work is central to our delivery of a quality, learner-centred education and training service.
“I look forward to working with all our Board members in the coming years.”
The board’s first official meeting took place on Monday, September 9.
Further information on Donegal ETB can be found on the website and @DonegalETB on social media platforms Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.

If you have a story or want to send a photo or video to us please contact the Donegal Live editorial team any time. To contact Donegal Democrat and Donegal People's Press, email To contact Donegal Post, email To contact Inish Times, email

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.