All square in Glenfin after extra-time in titanic clash between Aodh Ruadh and Cloughaneely

All square in Glenfin after extra-time in titanic clash between Aodh Ruadh and Cloughaneely

Cloughaneely's Martin Maguire keeps possession with Niall Murray of Aodh Ruadh moving in Picture: Thomas Gallagher

Cloughaneely were deprived of an Intermediate final place by a last ditch free from Philip Patton as 14-man Aodh Ruadh survived in extra-time

Aodh Ruadh 0-14
Cloughaneely 0-14
(after extra-time)

In a classic encounter there was very little between these sides at a wet Pairc Taobhoige, Glenfin, but the pitch held up well. There was plenty to enjoy and while the quality was affected by the conditions, the effort from both teams was commendable.
Cloughaneely will wonder how they didn't win as they hit woodwork three times and deep in the second period of extra time when Cillian Gallagher was through, his shot was deflected onto the post by Peter Boyle but he elected to go for goal with the rebound instead of punching over and blazed wide.
Cloughaneely were leading 0-14 to 0-13 at the time and they paid a price with Philip Patton converting the late free.
In the first period of extra-time Aodh Ruadh had gone three clear with quick points from Philip Patton (2) and Oisin Rooney but Cloughaneely never gave up and Shaun McGarvey hit two wonder points at the start of the second period of extra time to draw them level and Martin Maguire hit a monster to put them in front before Patton's late free.
Aodh Ruadh had lost Nathan Boyle to a second yellow a few minutes before the end. Because of the conditions and the closeness of the sides it was a tough game to referee but Andrew Mullin kept a tight grip throughout.

In normal time the game was always close with never more than two points between the sides.
They were level four times in the opening 30 minutes before Paul Sweeney edged Cloughaneely 0-5 to 0-4 ahead at the break.
Philip Patton (free), Oisin Patton, Shane Gillespie and Diarmuid McInerney had the Aodh Ruah points while Shaun Maguire (2), Shaun McGarvey (f), Darren Ferry and Sweeney were the Cloughaneely scorers. Aodh Ruadh had a point from Patton from play awarded by an umpire but knocked off by the linesman.
Paul Sweeney put two between them at the start of the second half but Patton replied. Cillian Gallagher and Patton with another free left it 0-7 to 0-6.
While Cloughaneely lost Paul Sweeney to a black card for a late hit on Shane McGrath, Jason McGee stretched the lead with a free, but after Cillian Gallagher was denied by Sean Taylor, Patton cut the lead to the minimum with five minutes of normal time left.
On 60 minutes Patton levelled with another free before Peter Boyle came forward to edge Aodh Ruadh ahead.
However, in the third minute of the three minutes of added time Shaun McGarvey pointed a free to take the game to extra-time.
There was much to admire from both sides, who will have plenty to work on. The woodwork was Aodh Ruadh's friend but they will also wonder about four frees misses (two each for Philip Patton and Nahan Boyle).
The replay is scheduled for Wednesday night with the final set for the following Sunday but both camps were very unhappy with that and are calling for the replay to be put back until next weekend.

AODH RUADH: Peter Boyle (0-1,f); Johnny Gallagher, Colm Kelly, Johnny Gethins; Shane Gillespie (0-1), Conor Patton, Sean Taylor; Cian Dolan, Eamonn McGrath; Nathan Boyle, Philip Patton 0-8,7f), Oisin Rooney (0-3); Shane McGrath, Niall Murray, Diarmuid McInerney (0-1). Subs: Darren Drummond for Murray 44; Niall Murray for Johnny Gallagher 60+10; Paddy Gillespie for S Gillespie 60+15.

CLOUGHANEELY: Michael McGinley; Ciaran McGeady, Ciaran Scanlon, Michael Fitzgerald; Ciaran McFadden, Darren McGeever, Mark Harley; Jason McGee (0-1,f), Martin Maguire (0-1); Kevin Mulhern, Darren Ferry (0-1), Shaun McGarvey (0-5,4f); Cillian Gallagher (0-2), Paul Sweeney (0-2), Shaun Maguire (0-2). Subs: Aidan Doohan for S McGarvey ht; John Fitzgerald for Sweeney bcard 48; Shaun McGarvey for C Gallagher 56; Cillian Gallagher for D Ferry 60+6; Noel Sweeney for C McGeady 60+6.

REFEREE: Andrew Mullin (Killybegs)

If you have a story or want to send a photo or video to us please contact the Donegal Live editorial team any time. To contact Donegal Democrat and Donegal People's Press, email To contact Donegal Post, email To contact Inish Times, email

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.