Donegal General Election 2016 - a recap

How it played out the last time

Donegal  General Election 2016 - a recap

In the general election of 2016 the electorate was: 117,675
which left a quota of 12,218.

The total poll on that occasion was 73,957 with votes declared spoiled 654
leaving the valid poll at 73,303.

The turnout on that occasion was 62.85%

The first preference votes for the successful candidates in 2016 were: Charlie McConalogue (FF) 12,533; Pearse Doherty (SF), 10,300; Pat 'the Cope' Gallagher (FF), 10,198; Joe McHugh (FG) 8,412 and Thomas Pringle (Ind) 6,220.

In percentage terms the first preference votes were as follows: McConalogue 17.1%; Doherty (P) 14.1%; Gallagher 13.9%; McHugh 11.5% and Pringle 8.5%

McConalogue was elected on the first count; Doherty (P) on the eighth; Gallagher and McHugh on count 11 and Pringle too the fifth and final seat on count 13

Pringle beat Padraig Mac Lochlainn (SF) in that last count 10,082 to 9.898 - 184 votes.

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.