Cockhill Celtic beat Finn Harps Reserves in Ulster Senior League

BJ Banda on the mark for Harps

Cockhill Celtic beat Finn Harps Reserves in Ulster Senior League

BJ Banda, opened the scoring for Harps Reserves

Cockhill Celtic opened up an eight-point gap at the top of the Ulster Senior League after they came from behind to defeat Finn Harps Reserves on Sunday afternoon.

Finn Harps Reserves 1

Cockhill Celtic 5

A young Harps side started this game brightly and went ahead on 9 minutes when a great through ball from Alex Carolan put BJ Banda through and he finished low past Harry Doherty in the Cockhill goal.  
Cockhill came back into the game as a free kick from Gerry Gill was met at the front post by Harps first team coach William O'Connor to head past Jamie Bell.
Cockhill had further chances through McLaughlin, Friel and Moran just before Luke Nelis should have put Harps in the lead as on the stroke of half time he got on the end of Carolan's excellent delivery but the ball just went past the post from 5 yards out.
Cockhill came out firing at the start of the second half as a foul on Moran resulted in Friel finishing the penalty to put them ahead in the game.
A third followed a few minutes later as a cross from Gerry Gill was met by the on rushing Jimmy Bradley to make it three.  
Harps came back into the game and Aaron McCready had a shot cleared off the line and Ryan Finn had a shot saved by Doherty to keep Cockhill two ahead.  
The game was over as a contest as a delightful backheel from Moran put Bradley through and he grabbed his second slotting past Bell in the Harps goal.  
Bradley was then involved in the fifth as he burst through the Harps defence and squared it for Moran to tap home.  

Finn Harps Reserves: Jamie Bell, Aaron McCready, Daragh Ellison, Paul Ferry, Shane Blaney, Kealan McDermott, Alex Carolan, Gareth Doherty, BJ Banda, Declan Sharkey, Luke Nelis. Subs used: Ryan Finn for Carolan, Zak Brolly for Ellison.
Cockhill Celtic: Harry Doherty, Conor Keddy, Peter Doherty, William O'Connor, Jason Breslin, Ryan Varma, Gerry Gill, Gerard McLaughlin, Mark Moran, Jimmy Bradley, Garbhan Friel. Subs used: Darren Coyle for Friel, James McGonagle for Gill.
Referee: Marty McGarrigle.

If you have a story or want to send a photo or video to us please contact the Donegal Live editorial team any time. To contact Donegal Democrat and Donegal People's Press, email To contact Donegal Post, email To contact Inish Times, email

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.