Donegal's Ronan Boyce named in Republic of Ireland U-19 squad

Great news for Derry City teenager

Ronan Boyce

Ramelton's Ronan Boyce who has been named in the Republic's U-19 squad

Ramelton teenager Ronan Boyce has been called up to the Republic of Ireland U-19 squad ahead of two international friendlies against Denmark.

Boyce, who signed with Derry City from Swilly Rovers, made his Derry first team debut last month, coming on as a second half substitute in the 4-0 win over Cork City.

The highly rated defender has been rewarded for his excellent run of form by Ireland Head Coach Tom Mohan who has named his squad for the double-header with both games being played at the Showgrounds in Sligo.

After last season’s fantastic campaign that concluded with a semi-final appearance in the UEFA Under-19 European Championships, Mohan’s side will use the Danish double-header in preparation  for the upcoming Qualifying Round games against Switzerland, Austria and Gibraltar.

The Ireland boss is hoping the crowds in the north-west come out and support the side as preparations to qualify for next year’s finals in Northern Ireland move up another level.

“There’ll be an honest approach from the players," he said.

"It’s an opportunity for the players to impress. We’re looking forward to a good crowd in Sligo for the games.”

The opening match takes place in The Showgrounds on Friday, October 11 at 7pm, followed by the second game on Monday, October 14 at 1pm.

Republic of Ireland Under-19 Squad
Goalkeepers: Sean Bohan (Bohemians), Jimmy Corcoran (Preston North End), Bobby Jones (Wigan Athletic)

Defenders: Ronan Boyce (Derry City), Ben Greenwood (AFC Bournemouth), Oisin McEntee (Newcastle United), Mark McGuinness (Arsenal), Mazeed Ogungbo (Arsenal), Andrew Omobamidele (Norwich City), Lewis Richards (Wolverhampton Wanderers), Timi Sobowale (Manchester City)

Midfielders: Jamie Bowden (Tottenham Hotspur), Barry Coffey (Celtic), Dawson Devoy (Bohemians), Donal Higgins (Galway United), Conor Grant (Sheffield Wednesday), Harvey Neville (Manchester United), Armstrong Oko-Flex (Celtic), Tyreik Wright (Aston Villa)

Forwards: Tom Cannon (Everton), Ryan Cassidy (Watford), Festy Ebosele (Derby County), Alex Gilbert (West Bromwich Albion), Conor Noß (Borussia Monchengladbach), George Nunn (Chelsea), Thomas Oluwa (Shamrock Rovers), Ross Tierney (Bohemians)

If you have a story or want to send a photo or video to us please contact the Donegal Live editorial team any time. To contact Donegal Democrat and Donegal People's Press, email To contact Donegal Post, email To contact Inish Times, email

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.