Convoy and Lifford draw as form goes out the window

Temple Domestic Division One League

Convoy and Lifford draw as form goes out the window

Convoy Arsenal and Lifford Celtic could not be separated at the end of what was an absorbing Temple Domestic Division One League clash in Orchard Park, Convoy, on Saturday night.

Convoy Arsenal . . . . . . . . . . . . 1

Lifford Celtic. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 1

Paul Martin, Lifford, and Darren Harvey, Convoy, scored the goals on a night form went out the window and struggling Lifford were more than a match for table toppers Convoy.

When Johnny Robb missed the opportunity to hit the game’s opening goal when put clean through on a one on one situation with one of the star performers of the night Lee White in the Lifford goals.

Minutes later it was Lifford who took the lead when Paul Martin headed home from a corner. Convoy were given a route back into the game in the 34th minute when they were awarded a penalty.

Johnny Robb was again foiled by White who got down well for a fine save. Convoy piled on the pressure for the remainder of the first half but couldn't find the equaliser despite hitting the woodwork twice.

Lifford coped well with early Convoy pressure on the resumption. But on the hour mark Convoy won their second penalty when Ryan Carlin was brought down in the box. Carlin dusted himself off to take the penalty himself but then proceeded to drive over the bar for a second let off for the visitors.

Convoy’s sustained pressure finally paid off when Darren Harvey found the back of the net from a free tie up the game.

That was on 70 minutes and from then to the finish, the locals pushed for a winner but brave Lifford held out for a share of the points and much needed boost in a bid to kick part their season.

Convoy Arsenal: Christopher O’Donnell; Emmett Mc Nulty, Jason Elliott, Sean Mc Laughlin, Emmett Patterson, Gary Brolly, Darren Harvey, James Kee,Ryan Carlin, Jonny Robb, Marty Vance

Lifford Celtic: Lee White; Daniel McNulty, Stuart Carlin, Paul Martin, Mathew Catterson, Jonathan Carlin, Stephen Roulston, Kevin McBrearty, Jude Patton, Paul Carlin, David Gethins.

Referee: Andrew Mullin.

If you have a story or want to send a photo or video to us please contact the Donegal Live editorial team any time. To contact Donegal Democrat and Donegal People's Press, email To contact Donegal Post, email To contact Inish Times, email

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.