Lucy and Bridin crowned champions

Final week of Winter Showjumping League at Deane's

Lucy and Bridin crowned champions

The Final of the Winter Showjumping League took place at Deane’s Equestrian Centre last Sunday.

The Senior Champion Rider for 2016 is Lucy Stewart on Dedo they jumped clear in both the 70cm and 80cm classes for the last eight weeks without knocking a pole. And no one could match to them for consistency to win the ‘Paul Gallagher Memorial Cup’.

The Junior Champion Rider 2016 is Bridin Walsh on Rocky winning the ‘Perpetual Cup’ sponsored by Tir Connaill Riding Club with Lily Wilcox on Star coming a close second. Well done to all the riders competing in the Starter Stakes and 40cm classes. Molly Gillespie, Enya Harley and Cora Doherty collected clear round rosettes for their great rounds.

Thanks to our judges Fiona O’Shea and Cyndi Graham and all the arena helpers who helped the show run smoothly over the eight weeks. And to Mona Vial who presented both the ‘Paul Gallagher Memorial Cup’ to the Senior Champion Rider Lucy Stewart and the Perpetual Cup sponsored by Tir Connaill riding club to the Junior Champion Rider Bridin Walsh.


Starter Stakes

Clears: Molly Gillespie

40cms - Clears:

Enya Harley, Killybegs, Yankee

Cora Doherty, Glenties, Meenarillagh

50cms - Clears

Hollie Bradley. Inver, Tango

Lily Wilcox, Mountcharles, Star

Andrea Greene, Dungloe, Snookie

Rebecca Morrow, Donegal, Lincoln

Amy Gardiner, Rockhill, Bertie

Freya Moohan, Killybegs, Meenarillagh

Ella McLaughlin, Dungloe, Thunder


1st Andrea Greene, Dungloe, Snookie; 2nd Ally McClay, Rockhill, Meenarillagh; 3rd Ella McLaughlin, Dungloe, Meenarillagh


Marie Molloy, Narin, Honey; Maddie Edmunds, Donegal, Uisce; Lily Wilcox, Mountcharles, Star; Freya Beales, Stranorlar, Piper


1st Lucy Stewart, Mountcharles, Dedo


Mona Vial, Killybegs, Roddy; Charlie Vial, Killybegs, Buddy


1st Lucy Stewart, Mountcharles, Dedo; 2nd Andrea Greene, Dungloe, Harry; 3rd Kirsten Rice, Killybegs, Rambo


Marie Molloy, Portnoo, Ruby


1st Bridin Walsh, Dungloe, Rocky; 2nd Andrea Greene, Dungloe, Harry


1st Bridin Walsh, Dungloe, Rocky; 2nd Megan Boner, Dungloe, Creggan Boy.

If you have a story or want to send a photo or video to us please contact the Donegal Live editorial team any time. To contact Donegal Democrat and Donegal People's Press, email To contact Donegal Post, email To contact Inish Times, email

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.