Mariusz Olejniczak, The Race winner

 Endurance Race 

Mariusz Olejniczak, The Race winner

Mariusz Olejniczak from Poland was the third winner of The Race which was held at the weekend.

Olejniczak, who lives in KIldare, finished the 250km endurance race in a time of 15.01:45.He was over 32 minutes ahead of the second placed Rob McDonald whose time was 15.34:13.

Martin Lynch from Ramelton was third in a time of 15.41;01 and was the first Donegal man to cross the finishing line back in Gartan on Saturday night.

Paul Tierney was fourth with Peter O’Donnell from Kilmacrennan in fifth place. Tierney’s time was 16.07:17 and O’Donnell had a time of 16.11; 55.

Christine McKenzie, in a time of 20.02; 55, finished in 23rd place and was the first woman home.

In all, over 60 competitors finished the event which set out on Saturday morning at 5am and covered a 22 km run from Gartan to Ramelton and a kayak row from Ramelton to Rathmullen.

This was followed by a the first cycle which was a 95km run around Fanad and Downing before those taking part took on a 5 km mountain climb, up and down Muckish Mountain.

After that, the competitors got back on their bikes for the second cycle through Cloughaneely, Gaoth Dobhair and the Rosses to Doochary.

The last leg of the 250km route was a full marathon finishing up in Gartan.

Olejniczak's time of 15.01;45 is a new record for the event. Canadian Bill Wells was the first winner in 2014 in a time of 15.22;00 and Sean McFadden, Letterkenny 24/7 Triathlon club was last year's winner. McFadden, in very difficult and testing weather conditions, recorded a time of 18.43;57 (although the kayak section was cancelled last year).

Top finishers:

Mariusz Olejniczak     15.01:45

(2)Rob O’ Donnell     15.34:13

(3) Martin Lynch  15.41:01

(4) Paul Tierney 16.07:17

(5) Peter O’Donnell 16.11:58

(6) Martin Kirwin     16.21; 28

(7) Pablo Lopez         16.47:44

(8) Hugh Coll        17.20:14

(9) John Mollohan     18.06.15

(10) Derek Kiely         18.09;53

(11) Stephen Geraghty 18.09: 53

(12) Marin Carey    18.09;54

(13) Brian Meskell 18.43; 34

(14) Kenny O’Donnell  18.49:01

(15) Brendan Doyle  18.55:43

(16) Sebastien Giraud 19.03:14

(17) John Connaghan 19.09:43

(18) Brian Ward 19.26: 10

(19 Gavin Harris 19.31; 59

(20) Tony Doherty 19.31; 59

(21) Gerard Callaghan 19.48; 18

(22) Ger Griffin 19.51; 42

(23) Christina  Mackenzie     20.02; 55

(24) Barry Maguire 20.11; 09

(25) Oisin Weldon    20.15;31

(26) Gerritt Durnin  20.15;51

(27) Gerard Prendergast     20.20;16

(28) Ronan Graham 20.29;47

(29) Neville Groarty 20.48; 40

(30) Graham Sterritt  21.04;25

(31) Conor Dorris 21.13.45

(32) Ken Eustace 21.15; 05S

If you have a story or want to send a photo or video to us please contact the Donegal Live editorial team any time. To contact Donegal Democrat and Donegal People's Press, email To contact Donegal Post, email To contact Inish Times, email

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.