Donegal Minors have easy first round win


Donegal Minors have easy first round win

Donegal got the defence of their Ulster Minor League off to a winning start with a comfortable victory over Fermanagh in Ballyshannon

Donegal . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 2-11

Fermanagh . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 0-8

Donegal would be happy enough with their first half performance, but the second half display left a lot to be desired.

Donegal were superior up front where they looked much too sharp for Fermanagh.

They had their first goal on five minutes, Niall O'Donnell finishing after good work by Shane McGrath.

The second goal on 15 minutes was a well worked score with Aiden McLaughin making the break and Eoghan Carr supplying the pass for Shane McGrath to finish.

By half-time Fermanagh were 2-5 to 0-2 ahead with Fermanagh sub Conor McGann just seven minutes on the field before being black carded.

The second half was a poor 30 minutes of football from both sides. Donegal added eight wides to the six they had in the opening half. It was a strange half with Donegal only getting two frees late in the half, while Fermanagh weren't much better, hitting five wides to add to their five in the opening half.

Peadar Mogan hit a post going for goal in the final minutes and Conall Quinn missed an open goal for Fermanagh.

Donegal: Gavin Mulreany; Seaghan Ferry, Aaron McCrea, Daniel Lyons; Aiden McLaughlin (0-1), Peadar Mogan (0-2), Nathan Boyle; Kieran Gallagher, Ciaran McGinley; Odhran Ferry, Enda McCormack (0-2,1f), Shane McGrath (1-0); Jack Flannery, Niall O’Donnell (1-5,3f), Eoghan Carr (0-1). Subs: James McSharry for Flannery ht; Mark Curran for S Ferry, bcard 34; JD Boyle for McCormick 51; Tony Harkin for McCrea; Odhran Shiels for N Boyle, both 57; Senan Boyle for A McLaughlin 59.

Fermanagh: Gary Doherty; Johnny Cassidy, Ryan Keane, James McCaffrey; Conor Cameron, Shane McGullion, Conor McGee (0-1); Darragh McGurn, Daire Ó Caitháin; Tiarnan Bogue (0-4,1f), Timmy Boyd, Eoghan Curran; Conall Quinn (0-1), Eoin Beacom, Paul Óg O’Reilly (0-1). Subs., Conor McGann for Cameron 27; Colm Jones (0-1) for McGann, bcard, ht; Ran Flanagan for D McGurn 39; James McGrail for McCaffrey 60.

Ref: Sean Campbell (Tyrone)

If you have a story or want to send a photo or video to us please contact the Donegal Live editorial team any time. To contact Donegal Democrat and Donegal People's Press, email To contact Donegal Post, email To contact Inish Times, email

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.