St. Eunan's first half goals sink St. Michaels


St. Eunan's first half goals sink St. Michaels
By @laoisnews

 St Eunan’s chalked up another win with a comfortable Division One All County League win over St Michael’s, yesterday, in O’Donnell Park.

St Eunan's 2-15

St Michael's 2-7

The black and members laid the foundation for the eight point victory in the first as they went in 2-10 to 0-4 in front following and the points as good as in the bag. Kevin Rafferty and Patrick McGowan scored the goals.

Conor Gibbons started the move that led to Rafferty’s goal. That was on nine and opened up a 1-3 to 0-1 lead for the locals. Ciaran Gallagher, Raymond McLaughlin and Christy Toye all scored to raise St Michael’s hopes but it proved a false dawn as Conall Dunne, Gibbons, McGowan and Rafferty all kicked minors before McGowan drove home goal number two, five minutes from the interval after good approach play from Conor Morrison and Oisin Carr.

Sean Defan made a good save early on the resumption to deny Andrew Kelly a green flag that St Michael’s so badly needed.

St Eunan’s stretched their lead out 2-14 to 0-5 by the 40 minute mark thanks to points from Rafferty, John Haran and Gibbons.

Michael Cannon from play and Andrew Kelly from the penalty spot scored the St Michael’s goal to give the final margin a look of respectability about it.

St Eunan's: Sean Daffan; Conor Morrison, Caolan Ward, Conor Parke; Eamonn Doherty, Conor O'Donnell, Peter Devine; Darragh Mulgrew (0-1), Kevin Rafferty (1-2); Conor Gibbons (0-5, 3f), Conall Dunne (0-1), Barry McGeehin; Patrick McGowan (1-3, 1f), John Haran (0-2), Oisin Carr (0-1). Subs: Darragh McWalter for Devine (50), David Tyrell for Rafferty (56).

St Michael's: Mark Anthony McGinley; Ciaran Kelly, Stephen Black, Brendan Rodden; Ruairí Friel, Michael Gallagher, Chris McElhinney; Martin McElhinney, Ciaran Gallagher (0-1); Michael Cannon (1-0), Christy Toye (0-1), Oisin Langan; Andrew Kelly (1-3, 1-0 pen, 1f), Brian McLaughlin, Raymond McLaughlin (0-2). Subs:Paul Creamer and Odhran McFadden for Langan and Rodden (26).

Referee: Shaun McLaughlin (Malin).

If you have a story or want to send a photo or video to us please contact the Donegal Live editorial team any time. To contact Donegal Democrat and Donegal People's Press, email To contact Donegal Post, email To contact Inish Times, email

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.