Naomh Conaill make final with late surge


Naomh Conaill make final with late surge
Tom Comack @dgldemocrat

Naomh Conaill will play Ardara in this afternoon’s final of the Donegal Comórtas Peil Na Gaeltachta senior final following last night’s semi-final victory over Dungloe.

Naomh Conaill . . . . . 0-16

Dungloe . . . . . . . . . . . . 1-9

Naomh Conaill, the reigning All-Ireland champions, were given the fright of their lives by the men from the Rosses.

With just five minutes remaining, James McCole, the Dungloe substitute, pointed to put Tony Boyle's side in front and a 1-9 to 0-11 lead.

This prompted the introduction of Leo McLoone and then Anthony Thompson, moves which heralded a revival that produced five unanswered points.

Dara Gallagher, Seamus Corcoran and three from Dermot Molloy sealed the place in the final and a result Naomh Conaill’s overall play deserved.

Dungloe gave as good as they got and were in the game right up to that late Naomh Conaill surge.

John O'Malley, Aaron Thompson and Marty Boyle joined Molloy on the scoreboard for the locals while Adrian Sweeney's brace for Dungloe was added to by Darren Curran and Ryan Greene.

Naomh Conaill led 0-7 to 0-5 at half-time after playing against the wind in the opening 30 minutes.

But Donegal got the half of to a dream start when Luke Neely drove past Stephen McGrath following a pass from Ryan Greene in the first minute .

Leon Thompson and Dara Gallagher replied for Naomh Conaill, but Dungloe went 1-7 to 0-9 up when Greene and Sweeney scored on 41 minutes.

The lead jumped over and back, with Molloy posting two more for Naomh Conaill to put them in front but Danny Rodgers, the Dungloe substitute goalkeeper, put his team back ahead with a 45 on 52 minutes

The fat was in the fire when substitute McCole edged Dungloe ahead again. However, those five late points sealed it for Naomh Conaill to set up a mouthwatering final meeting with arch rival Ardara.

Naomh Conaill: Stephen McGrath; Aaron Thompson (0-1), Jason Campbell, Kevin McGettigan; Ultan Doherty, Cathal Ellis, Marty Boyle (0-1); Charlie McGuinness, Ethan O'Donnell; Eunan Doherty, Seamus Corcoran (0-1), Dara Gallagher (0-2, 1f); Dermot Molloy (0-8, 4f), John O'Malley (0-2, 2f), Leon Thompson (0-1). Subs: for Stephen Molloy for Ellis (44), Eoin Waide for E O'Donnell (50), Leo McLoone for McGuinness (55), Anthony Thompson for U Doherty (57), O'Donnell for Corcoran (60)

Dungloe: Ciaran Sharkey; Jack Scally, Gavin Ward, Doalty Boyle; Ryan O'Donnell, Matthew Ward, Darren Curran (0-2); Raymond Sweeney, Luke Neely (1-0); Owen Scally, Adam Neely, Hugh Moy; Barry Curran, Adrian Sweeney (0-3, 2f), Ryan Greene (0-3, 2f). subs: Danny Rodgers (0-1, 45) for Sharkey (half-time), Caolan Ward for A Sweeney (45), James McCole (01-) for Ward (50), David McCarron for O Scally (52).

Referee: Liam McConigley (Downings)

First half goals send Naomh Conaill into final

Naomh Conaill were the first team into the Junior final with a comfortable victory over Naomh Muire, in the first semi-final in Davy Brennan Memorial Park yesterday.

Naomh Conaill . . . . . 2-10

Naomh Muire . . . . . . . 0-4

First half goals from Mark Gallagher and Hugh Gallagher set the locals on the road to victory as they led 2-6 to 0-3 lead .

Mark Gallagher hit the first on minutes and Hugh Gallagher struck the second in the closing minutes of the half.

Naomh Muire lost Darren Gallagher to a straight red card on the stroke of half-time after an off the ball clash with Naomh Coinaill’s Martin Gallagher.

Down to 14 Naomh Muire’s challenge wilted in the second half and Naomh Conaill added four more points to Naomh Muire’s one in the second half to run out comfortable winners.

Naomh Conaill: Tony Byrne; Martin Gallagher, Logan Quinn, Charlie McDonald; Dermot Ward, Mark Gallagher (1-1), Hughie Gallagher (1-1); Jamie McHugh (0-1), Paul McGuinness (0-1); Michael McLoone (0-1), Rory Boyle, Darren Gallagher; Seamus Ellis (0-3), Conal McNelis (0-1), Christopher Molloy (0-1). Subs: Brian McGuigan for D Gallagher (h/), Dominic Bonner for Rory Boyle (46), Stephen Griffin for McNelis (54), Christopher McGlynn for P McGuinness (59)

Naomh Muire: Brian Grant; Ronan Duffy, Charlie Doherty, Maurice McBride; Hugh Martin, Hugh McGeady, Seamus Ferry; Christopher Devlin, Owenie McGarvey (0-2); Seamus Grant, Darren Gallagher, Jamie McGee; Paul Gallagher, Francis Gallagher (0-2, frees), Daniel Sharkey. Subs: Ciaran McGinley, Aidan McGinley and Darren Sweeney for McBride, Sharkey and S Grant (h/t), Sean McCafferty for F Gallagher (36), Thomas Devenney for Martin (41 ) and Ciaran Gallagher for Ferry (48)

If you have a story or want to send a photo or video to us please contact the Donegal Live editorial team any time. To contact Donegal Democrat and Donegal People's Press, email To contact Donegal Post, email To contact Inish Times, email

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.