Naomh Muire cause mild shock while Malin get vital home win


Naomh Muire cause mild shock while Malin get vital home win

Naomh Muire put their league troubles to the one side as they won the all-Division Two meeting with Glenfin at Pairc Taobhoige on Sunday.

Glenfin 0-11

Naomh Muire 3-7

It was an assured display from Eamonn O'Boyle's side. They might have been second best for much of the first half, but once they kicked into gear, they got the scores that mattered.

With only one victory in the league this season, Naomh Muire needed a big performance against a Glenfin team who haven't been doing much better in Division Two.

The visitors started well, scoring a goal in the second minute when Daniel Breslin palmed the ball in from close range.

Glenfin's response, however, was impressive.l Points from Paddy O'Connor (free), Daniel McGlynn and two super scores from Jason Morroy left them 0-5 to 1-1 in front after 11 minutes.

Frank McGlynn maintained that run of scores with a well taken point off the left boot.

Harry Harden responded with a free byut Kevin McGlynn's point put the home side two points up again, 0-7 to 1-2.

Frustratingly for Glenfin, they didn't score again in the half as Naomh Muire gained control.

With the O'Brien's, Jack and Adam, prominent in midfield, the excellent Sean Yank Boyle kicked two quick poiknts to level the scores and then Patrick Gillespie nosed them in front.

Then just before half time, they got their second goal when Padraig McCafferty ran it home after he pounced on Jack Boyle's ball across goal.

That left Naomh Muire 2-5 to 0-7 in front at the break.

Glenfin started the new half with another point from Frank McGlynn and when Paddy O'Connor knocked over another free, they gap was down to just two points, 2-5 to 0-9.

But Harry Harden kicked the best point of the day to stretch Naomh Muire's lead again. He followed it up with a free and when Sean Yank Boyle was set up for the third goal midway through the half, Glenfin's heads visibly dropped.


Their day was to get worse with the dismissal of the Harkin brothers, John and Daniel - John for a straight red, and in a separate incident, Daniel for a second yellow.

Michael McGlynn and Jason Morrow completed the scoring with late points for Glenfin.

But ultimately, it was a very disappointing afternoon for the home side. They conceded some bad goals - at least two of which came after they chose to go short with kick-outs.

They now face a testing challenge to qualify from this group.

In contrast, Naomh Muire will look on this as a crucial win. Even without the injured Hugh Yank Boyle, they were fully deserving winners with Adi O'Gara, Sean Yank boyle, Harry Harden and Patrick Gillespie among those to catch the eye.

Glenfin: Liam O'Meara; Martin O'Donnell, John Harkin, Gary Herron; Jason Morrow (0-3), Daniel Harkin, Kyle Doherty; Stephen Ward, Paddy O'Connor (0-2, 2f); Stephen Carr, Frank McGlynn (0-2), David McGlynn (0-1); Kevin McGlynn (0-1), Michael McGlynn (0-1), Ciaran Foy (0-1). Subs: Gary Dorrian for Carr 43, Conor McBride for Foy 49, David Carr for Doherty 49.

Naomh Muire: Lee Boyle; Sean Gallagher, Brian Gillespie, Robbie O'Donnell; Cian Boyle, Adi O'Gara, Jack Boyle; Jack O'Brien, Adam O'Brien; Sean Yank Boyle (1-2, 1f), Patrick Gillespie (0-2), Owenie McGarvey; Harry Harden (0-3, 2f), Padraig McCafferty (1-0), Daniel Devlin (1-0). Subs: Daniel Gallagher for McCafferty 62.

Referee: Liam McConigley (Downings).

Martin O’Reilly missed a late minute penalty as Malin held on for the win at the end of a hard fought first round tie in Connolly Park, Malin on Sunday afternoon.

Malin . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 2-9

Sean MacCumhaills . . 1-9

Sean MacCumhaills’s took the lead with Darren McGowan winning a kick out before playing a one-two with Andrew McCloskey and finishing off from a central area.

Steven O’Reilly ran through and scored shortly after before Brendan McLaughlin replied for Malin after good work from Anthony Kelly and Dan McDaid,

McLaughlin then hit two goals and two points as the MacCumhaills’ defence found McLaughlin’s pace too hard to handle. He cut in from the right and sped away from his marker before shooting low into the left corner for the first and two minutes later he flicked on Darren Mullarkey’s long ball in and ran onto the loose ball before shooting soccer style from the 21’ past Patton.

Brian Lafferty scored a free from the right to keep the twin towns men in contention but McLaughlin again beat his marker down the right before cutting in and slotting over.

Dan McDaid extended the lead out to seven after turning quickly and shooting over after Anthony Kelly worked in a short free.

Martin O’Reilly converted from a placed ball for the visitors shortly afterwards but MacCumhaill’s were then dealt a blow when Steven O’Reilly was shown a straight red card.

The Malin defence were then caught in possession by O’Reilly on the stroke of half-time and as he advanced he was brought down for a penalty,.

The county ace made no mistake to leave the halftime score Malin 2-4 Sean MacCumhaills 1-4.

Stephen Mulligan opened the scoring for MacCumhaills after Brian Lafferty was brought down. Brendan McLaughlin responded for Malin with a fine point.

Player manager Anthony Kelly hit two frees after he himself and Paul McLaughlin were brought down.

McGowan, O’Reilly and O’Leary scored for the visitors to keep MacCumhaills in touch. Anthony Kelly then scored a super point to leave a goal between them again and Kelly and O’Leary traded frees before Malin were reduced to 14 after Gary Farren was dismissed for two yellows offences.

There was late drama as Sean McGowan’s shot was adjudged to have been footblocked and MacCumhaills were awarded a second penalty.

Martin O’Reilly once again took on the shot but Darragh McLaughlin got down low to his left to deny O’Reilly, and Malin held on for a great victory.

Malin: Darragh McLaughlin; Michael McLaughlin, Conor Farren, Gary Farren; Thomas McLaughlin, Declan Walsh, Paul McLaughlin; Kieron McColgan, Anthony Kelly (0-4, 3 f); Darren Mullarkey, Dan McDaid (0-1), Damien Harkin; Danny McCarron, Seamus Houghton Brendan McLaughlin (2-4).

Sean MacCumhaills: Chris Patton; Gerard Grindle, Joe Dunnion, Conor Griffin; Andrew McCloskey, Gary Dunnion, Gary McGirr; Steven O’Reilly (0-1), Nathan Gavigan; Aaron Kelly, Martin O’Reilly (1-2), Darren McGowan (0-2, 1f); Stephen Mulligan (0-1), Darren O’Leary (0-2, 1f) and Brian Lafferty (0-1, 1f). Sub: Shaun McGowan for Aaron Kelly

If you have a story or want to send a photo or video to us please contact the Donegal Live editorial team any time. To contact Donegal Democrat and Donegal People's Press, email To contact Donegal Post, email To contact Inish Times, email

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.