Donegal hope to topple DDSL


Donegal hope to topple DDSL

The Donegal Schoolboys U13 sideare at Cahir Park, Tipperary on Saturday to play in the All Ireland Inter League finals.

They come up against the Dublin and District Schoolboys League (DDSL) - the strongest schoolboys league in the country.

They have won 34 out of 41 Kennedy Cups which is an impressive record.

It will certainly be a tough test for the Donegal side who qualified from their group without conceding a goal. they won their three games beating Sligo/Leitrim, Inishowen and Cavan /Monaghan.

They then faced Athlone in the semi final and just got over the line, beating them with a goal in the dying minutes from Blake McGarvey.

The team is managed by Gerry Crossan and he's looking forward to Saturday's final.

“If we play to our potential we would be confident we can give them a game,” he said.

“This match on Saturday will be our 33rd of the season so we are well prepared as we have played teams from all over the country like Northern Ireland, St Josephs Boys and Cork Schoolboys.

“DDSL are a formidable side as we have played them this season already. They have players in England on trial and their central midfield player is currently on trial with Chelsea.”


Dublin schoolboys have produced plenty of talent down through the years, among them Robbie Brady and Jeff Hendrick who will feature for Ireland this summer in Euro 2016.’

The Donegal squad made their way down to Tipperary on Friday night before the game on Saturday in Cahir Park which gets underway at 1pm.

Gerry Crossan and Donegal Schoolboys would also like to thank Deputy Pat 'the Cope' Gallagher who has sponsored their trip down to Tipperary this weekend.

The Donegal Schoolboys squad is: Conor McDaid, Ryan Coyle (Drumkeen Utd); Shane Black (Milford Utd); Joshua Bradley, Patrick McGarvey (Kilmacrennan Celtic); Kyle Burns, Tyler Durning, Darragh McFadden, Rory Pyper (Swilly Rovers); Fionnan Coyle (Gweedore Utd); Leon Doherty, Joel Gorman, Nathan Plumb, Adam Yisau (Letterkenny Rovers); Daniel Gildea (Fintown Harps); Adam Murphy, Josh McCullagh, Ciaran Gallagher (Bonagee Utd); Jamie Murray (Cappry Rovers); Blake McGarvey (Glenea Utd); Ultan O'Grady (Donegal Town); Caomhan Wheeler (Lagan Harps); Cain McEntee (Gweedore Celtic).

If you have a story or want to send a photo or video to us please contact the Donegal Live editorial team any time. To contact Donegal Democrat and Donegal People's Press, email To contact Donegal Post, email To contact Inish Times, email

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.