Boyles back on track with Trim win


Boyles back on track with Trim win

Donegal cousins Declan and Brian Boyle (Ford Fiesta WRC) won the Trim based Smartpart ALMC Rally, the fifth round of the Triton Showers National Rally Championship.

Taking the lead on the second stage they went on to finish 43.4 seconds clear of the Ford Fiesta WRC of title favourites Clonmel’s Roy White and Cork’s James O’Brien. Warrenpoint’s Peadar Hurson and his Monaghan co-driver /Damien Connolly (Subaru WRC) were 15.6 seconds further behind in third.

Former champion Hurson (Subaru WRC) was quickest on the opening stage albeit a half a second ahead of Boyle with Monaghan’s Niall Maguire eight seconds further behind in third followed by Triton Showers series leader Roy White. With fastest times on the remaining pair of stages of the opening loop Boyle arrived at the Trim service park as rally leader. The Donegal driver reckoned that the two stages suited his Fiesta WRC as he led Hurson by 14.8 seconds, the latter stated the suspension settings of his Subaru was far too soft.

Out on the second loop Boyle gained some five seconds on the fourth stage while White was quickest on S.S. 5 and Boyle responded with the best time on S.S. 6 – nine tenths of a second ahead of White. In the overall context, Boyle led White by 20.3 seconds. Using the same set of tyres for the second loop Boyle claimed that he was having to brake earlier due to the lack of grip. For his part White was content with his pace.

On the final loop Boyle dominated all three stages including the Power Stage as he took a maximum 23 points, however, with White taking second spot and two points from the Power Stage (20 points) Boyle’s title bid has all but evaporated.

Meanwhile, Hurson kept his bid on track with third place while fourth placed Niall Maguire also remains in the reckoning for the Vard Memorial Trophy.

The Group N category was won by Tyrone’s Aidan Wray/Kieran McGrath (Mitsubishi), who also won the Triton Showers “Drive of the Day” award.

The Irish team won the “Triton Showers Nations Cup” defeating Britain by 9 to 7. The competition, involving twelve teams from each side, was based on the highest number of finishers in the top twenty.

1. D. Boyle/B. Boyle (Ford Fiesta WRC) 58m. 39.8s.

2. R. White/J. O'Brien (Ford Fiesta WRC) 59m. 23.2s.

3. P. Hurson/D. Connolly (Subaru WRC) 59m. 38.8s.

4. N. Maguire/E. Sherry (Subaru WRC) 1h. 00m. 04.1s.

5. D. Henry/L. Moynihan (Skoda Fabia R5) 1h. 00m. 14.6s.

6. S. Wood/K. Moriarty (Subaru WRC) 1h. 01m. 04.0s.

7. M. Evans/M. Glennerster (Subaru WRC) 1h. 01m. 15.4s.

8. S. Simpson/P. Walsh (Subaru WRC) 1h. 01m. 19.8s.

9. C. Armstrong/C. Melly (Ford Escort) 1h. 01m. 35.2 s.

10. A. Field/J. Moore (Darrian T90 GTR) 1h. 01m. 40.8s.

Triton Showers National Rally Championship (Provisional Standings after Round 5): 1. Roy White 103 pts; 2. Niall Maguire 84 pts; 3. Peadar Hurson 69 pts.

If you have a story or want to send a photo or video to us please contact the Donegal Live editorial team any time. To contact Donegal Democrat and Donegal People's Press, email To contact Donegal Post, email To contact Inish Times, email

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.