Minor championship encounter ends all square in Ballyshannon


Minor championship encounter ends all square in Ballyshannon

Aodh Ruadh and Kilcar played out a competitive draw in their first leg championship in Fr. Tierney Park, Ballyshannon on Monday evening.

Aodh Ruadh 1-13

Kilcar 1-13

The game really gained momentum in the second half with plenty of incident including former Donegal star, Martin McHugh, (pictured above) being banished from the sideline.

Kilcar, with the aid of the breeze, led by 1-8 to 0-7 at the break, thanks a goal from Gary Molloy, but Aodh Ruadh were back in the lead inside five minutes of the second half with Oisin Rooney powering home their goal.

The Ballyshannon side had trailed 1-8 to 0-4 as half-time approached but they hit three points before the break and 1-4 without reply at the start of the second to lead 1-11 to 1-8.

Kilcar came back to level at 1-11 each before Aodh Ruadh edged ahead. Kilcar were going for goal but found Sean Taylor in unbelievable form in the Aodh Ruadh goal (he had at least five top class saves and deflected a Gary Molloy effort over the crossbar.

Indeed, Kilcar 'keeper, Colm Garvey, also made a number of saves in a game where goal chances were aplenty.

When Shane Gillespie edged Kilcar in front it seemed as if they might prevail, but Shane McGrath levelled with the last attack. Before the end Aodh Ruadh lost Ryan McKenna to a second booking.

The sides will meet again in Towney in the second leg.

Aodh Ruadh: Sean Taylor; Ronan McMullin, Jason Granaghan, Patrick McCaffrey; Shane Gillespie (0-1), Conal Sweeney, Brendan Warnock (0-1); Nathan Boyle (0-1,f), Shane McGrath (0-4,4f); Ryan McKenna, Caolan Drummond, Michael McKenna; Gareth Sheerin (0-4,2f), Oisin Rooney (1-1), Dillon Gallagher (0-1). Subs., Eoin Doherty, Odhran O'Neill, Oisin Kerr.

Kilcar: Colm Garvey; Eoin Leamy, Daniel Lyons (0-1,f), Kenny Doogan; Gavin Moore, Brian O'Donnell (0-1), Ryan O'Donnell; Pauric McShane (0-2), Paddy McShane (0-1); Oran Doogan, Gary Molloy (1-5,3f), Aaron McShane (0-1); David Love, Shane Gillespie (0-2), John Gibbons. Sub., Owen Cormack.

Referee: Greg McGroary (Four Masters)

If you have a story or want to send a photo or video to us please contact the Donegal Live editorial team any time. To contact Donegal Democrat and Donegal People's Press, email editorial@donegaldemocrat.ie To contact Donegal Post, email editor@donegalpost.com To contact Inish Times, email editor@inishtimes.com.

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.