Brogan and McGettigan the top Donegal crew in Galway


Brogan and McGettigan the top Donegal crew in Galway

There was more Donegal success over the weekend at the Galway Summer Rally.

Based at Gort, there were three challenging stages repeated three times in and around the Gort area. On the overall results Ryan Moore navigating for Cavan man Garry Kiernan came an excellent second overall beating Paddy Mc Veigh and Garry Mac Elhinney in their WRC Subaru.

Fourth overall and Class 14 winners were Brian Brogan and Damien Mc Gettigan making them the top Donegal crew over the ramp in their Escort.

Columba Henna and Michael McClafferty were 11th in their Corolla beating Daniel Conaghan and Terence Mc Gee who finished 12th.

Donagh and Eamon Kelly took Class 12 honours in their immaculate MRK 1. Darragh Kelly and Eamon Doherty finished second in Class 11r ahead of Mark Boyle and Charles Gallagher in their Escort.

Shane and Ciaran Carr from Ramelton came second in Class 10 in the Nova.

In the Junior section there was success for Michael Boyle and Dermott Mc Clafferty in their rapid Civic. They took the spoils by three minutes. There was a first event and a good finish for Damien Cullen and Eamon Russell in their Civic..

This weekend sees the action closer to home with the two day Knockallla Hill Climb on Saturday and Sunday. Entries are coming in fast and furious which again will see more fierce competition. The fastest up the hill action starts at 11am on Saturday.

If you have a story or want to send a photo or video to us please contact the Donegal Live editorial team any time. To contact Donegal Democrat and Donegal People's Press, email To contact Donegal Post, email To contact Inish Times, email

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.