Narrow win for Naomh Conaill in ten-goal thriller

Southern Regional Minor Championship final

Narrow win for Naomh Conaill in ten-goal thriller

By Tom Comack

Naomh Conaill are Southern Regional Minor champions once more following Wednesday night’s narrow win over Aodh Ruadh, in Tir Chonaill Park.

Naomh Conaill 7-9

Aodh Ruadh 3-19

There were just two points between between the sides at the finish and Aodh Ruadh followers left Tir Chonaill Park wondering how they lost this game. They hit 22 scores to the opposition’s 16.

It is not often that a team scores 3-19 and is on the wrong end of the result when it is all over.

The answer lies in Naomh Conaill’s ability to find the back of the Aodh Ruadh net.

Shane McDevitt hit three first half goals and Eoghan McGettigan netted one to give Naomh Conaill a 4-3 to 1-9 lead.

Oisin Rooney, who proved a great target man in front of the Naomh Conaill goals, scored the Aodh Ruadh goals and the dual star also kicked two first half points for his team who were twice level in the opening 30 minutes.

The second half took a similar pattern to the first with Aodh Ruadh kicking three early points to lead by two, 1-16 to 4-4 by the three quarter mark.

Michael McKenna, Nathan Boyle, Rooney and Shane McGrath raised the Aodh Ruadh white flags.

But despite losing Logan Quinn to a second yellow for a high challenge on McGrath, Naomh Conaill cut loose in the final quarter.

County minors Jack Flannery and Eoghan McGettigan lead the blue charge with Flannery netting goal number five to tie up the game, in the early seconds of the final quarter.

And McGettigan netted two more before the finish to complete his hat trick while McGrath and Rooney responded with majors for Aodh Ruadh.

NAOMH CONAILL: James Boyle; Oran McDevitt, Tony Byrne, Charlie McConnell; Cian Doherty, Logan Quinn (0-1), JD Boyle; Keelan McGill, Kieran Gallagher; Shane McDevitt (3-0), Eoghan McGettigan (3-5, 1,f), Keelan McMonagle; Jeaic MacCeallbhui (0-1), Paul McGuinness (0-2), Odhran Doherty. Subs: Jack Flannery (1-0) for K McMonagle, h/t; Leo Dunphy for O McDevitt,58.

AODH RUADH: Sean Taylor; Shane Gillespie, Cian McGlynn, Paddy McCafferty; Ryan McKenna, Jason McGranaghan (0-1), David Warnock (0-1); Conal Sweeney, Nathan Boyle (0-3, 1,f,1,45); Dylan Gallagher (0-2), Shane McGrath (1-7,2,f), Michael McKenna (0-1); Odhran (0-1) O'Neill, Oisin Rooney (2-3), Caolan Drummond.

REFEREE; Jimmy White (Killybegs)

If you have a story or want to send a photo or video to us please contact the Donegal Live editorial team any time. To contact Donegal Democrat and Donegal People's Press, email To contact Donegal Post, email To contact Inish Times, email

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.