Donegal are second team in Intercounties Surfing

Donegal Kooks take Junior title

Donegal are second team in Intercounties Surfing

Last weekend saw a large number of surfers from the four corners of the country compete for the 48th Intercounties at Tullan Strand, Bundoran.

The competition was initially scheduled to take place at Rossnowlagh but conditions were just that little bit flat early on Saturday morning.

In a highly competitive final in perfect conditions Sligo won their 6th Irish Intercounties Surfing title with the dream team of current Irish National Champion Gearoid Mc Daid, Aaron Reid, Stephen Kilfeather and Colin O Hare.

They defeated the Donegal team of Neil and John Britton, Stephen Conwell and Kenny Ward in the final run off at Tullan on Saturday evening.

Donegal Kooks won best junior team with the Wooden Spoon going to the young Wexford "Wexico" team of Michael, Sarah, Helena Paran and Ben Monaghan. Best wave was awarded to Aaron Reid for a perfect 10 in the final and best grom went to Sky Sacolax.

Lifetime Achievement Awards were presented at lrish Surfing's 50th Anniversary Celebration Dinner on Saturday night in the Sandhouse Hotel.

Recipients were the five original founders of The Irish Surfing Association Kevin Cavey, Roger Steadman, Bo Vance, Dave Kenny and Brian Britton together with former Chairman Roci Allan.

If you have a story or want to send a photo or video to us please contact the Donegal Live editorial team any time. To contact Donegal Democrat and Donegal People's Press, email To contact Donegal Post, email To contact Inish Times, email

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.