Search our Archive


All about Jill in Ramelton

Forget Me Not got her off the mark in the mile and a half open

All about Jill in Ramelton

Jill Robinson on her way to victory in All About Chris

Jill Robinson, who has made a return to the saddle after coming out of retirement, chalked up a first and last race double in Ramelton on Sunday afternoon.

Forget Me Not got her off the mark in the mile and a half open and All About Chris provided the Omagh rider with a comfortable win in the two mile non-winners event.

On current form, the Co Tryone jockey looks a good bet for the ladies title, with the Gerry Collins' yard behind her.

Sunday also saw a first win for Reece O'Connor on Man of Iron in the mile and a quarter open. This looks like being the first of many victories for Reece.

Joey Dunne gave Big OJ a peach of a ride to take the two mile maiden in fine style.

Co Derry rider, Jamie Kelly, registered his second win of the season aboard the aptly named Sea Biscuit in the 153cm pony race for the Holian family in Ramelton.

Last year's Dingle Derby winner, Mr Bowen, had was steered to victory in the two mile open under the up and coming star, Pat Taffee, son of Tom and grandson of the late, great Pat Taaffe.

Never Say Never took the victory in the one mile open and won with plenty to spare in the trusted hands of Nina Simpson.

Daniel Day won the local race aboard Dimitri.

Racing resumes next weekend, Saturday, June 24th and Sunday, June 25th and the Big Isle in Manorcunningham.

The full list of winners from Sunday is:

1 1/2Mile Open
1st Forget Me Not J Robinson 
2nd Mr James P Taaffe 
3rd Ever So Clever J Kelly

2 Mile Open
1st Mr Bowen P Taaffe 
2nd Jack Daniels J Dunne 
3rd Walk The Line S Ewing

Maiden 2 Mile
1st Big OJ J Dunne 
2nd Lets Go Now N Simpson 
3rd Let IT Go L Morgan

153cm 1 1/2 Mile
1st Seabiscit J Kelly 
2nd Swilly Girl R O Connor 
3rd Dodge The Bullet S Ewing

1 Mile Open
1st Never Say Never N Simpson 
2nd Kiddo R O Connor 
3rd Nutcracker J Dunne

1 1/4 Open
1st Man Of Iron R O Connor 
2nd Elusive Ruby D Davis 
3rd Better Times Ahead S Ewing

Non Winners 2 Mile
1st All About Chris J Robinson 
2nd Dont Tell Chris R O Connor 
3rd The Worrior B Mulligan

Local Pony
1st Dimetri D Day 
2nd The White Pony M Day

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.