Finn Harps strike late to win at Cobh Ramblers

Impressive win for Ollie Horgan's side

Cobh v Finn Harps

Paddy McCourt who was forced off because of injury in Cobh on Saturday night.

Finn Harps picked up their first league win of the new season as they struck late to take the points at St. Coleman’s Park in Cobh on Saturday night.

Cobh Ramblers . . . 0

Finn Harps . . . 2

John O'Flynn opened the scoring on 81 minutes and then deep in injury time a second from Ciaran O’Connor completed the victory.

It was the Cork side’s first defeat of the season, and the result gives Harps their first league win in only their second outing of the campaign.

In a closely fought encounter, Harps got themselves in front with nine minutes remaining when O'Flynn steered the ball home from close range. Cobh keeper Paul Hunt could only parry Mark Timlin's free-kick and when the ball was returned back in front of goal, O'Flynn pounced to score.

Then four minutes into injury time, Ciaran O’Connor scored his first of the season to seal the points.

It’s an impressive result for Harps who unfortunately lost Paddy McCourt to injury.

The midfielder was back in a Harps side that showed several changes from Monday night’s league cup win over the Mayo League with Mark Coyle impressing at right back and Ciaran Gallagher, Keith Cowan and John O’Flynn all included from the start.

After a scoreless first half, Gallagher had to be alert on a number of occasions as Cobh pressed for the opener. The Harps keeper saved well from Dareen Murphy’s header while there were also chances for Cian Leonard and substitute, Kevin Taylor.

But once Harps got their noses in front through O'Flynn, Cobh looked in real trouble and the Donegal side the long journey home would be made a little easier when O’Connor scored the second late on.

Cobh Ramblers: Paul Hunt, Charlie Fleming, Ben O’Riordan, James McSweeney, Darren Murphy, Cian Leonard, Ian Mylod, Pierce Phillips, Andrew Wall, Anthony McAlaney, Adam O’Sullivan.

Finn Harps: Ciaran Gallagher, Mark Coyle, Ciaran Coll, Keith Cowan, Sam Todd, Tommy McBride, Mark Timlin, Paddy McCourt, John O’Flynn, Ciaran O’Connor, Michael O’Connor.

If you have a story or want to send a photo or video to us please contact the Donegal Live editorial team any time. To contact Donegal Democrat and Donegal People's Press, email To contact Donegal Post, email To contact Inish Times, email

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.