Sports star nominees announced

Sports star nominees announced

Sports star nominees announced

The Donegal Sports Star committee has announced the nominees for the 35th awards function which takes place at the end of the month in Letterkenny.

Once again the interest in Donegal's biggest sporting annual event has been extraordinary with almost 130 nominees in the individual, team, schools and special award categories. Irish champion boxer William McLaughlin from Illies Golden Boxing Club, Buncrana, was named as the Donegal Sports

Star last year. McLaughlin was also a silver medallist at the 2009 European Union Boxing Championships and a member of the Irish elite boxing squad.

Tickets for the awards ceremoney, which takes place on Friday, January 29th in Letterkenny's Mount Errigal Hotel, are now available by contacting Jane on (074) 9168844 between 10am and 5pm from Monday to Friday.

Special Athlete Award: Meg Carr (Letterkenny); Athletics: Darren McBrearty (Letterkenny AC), Mary McLoone (Tir Chonaill AC), Teresa McGloin, (Finn Valley AC).

Basketball: Aodhan Hickey (Letterkenny Blaze), Ger Murray (LYIT), Laura Deeney (LYIT); Boxing: Jason Quigley (Finn Valley ABC), Tyrone McCullagh (Illies Golden Gloves ABC), William McLaughlin, Illies Golden Gloves (ABC).

Clay Pigeon Shoot: David Roulston (Ramelton), David Scott (Raphoe), Gordon Roulston (Kilmacrennan).

Cycling: Ciaran O'Sullivan (Four Masters Cycling Club), Conor McIlwaine (Errigal Cycling Club), Pauric McCafferty (Four Masters Cycling Club).

Darts: Angela de Ward (Ballybofey), Martin McCloskey (Letterkenny), Sean Wilson (Buncrana).

Equestrian: Aisling Doherty (Buncrana), Clodagh Barry (Newtowncunningham), Simon Scott (Convoy), Kelda Morgan, (St Johnstone).

GAA: Anthony Thompson (Naomh Conaill), Geraldine McLaughlin (An Tearmann), Michael Murphy (Glenswilly), Yvonne McMonagle (Gleann Fhinne).

Gymnastics: Fiona Lafferty (Letterkenny Community Gymnastics), Gemma McCormick (Carndonagh), Jessica Walsh (Letterkenny Community Gymnastics Club), Megan Bernardo (Letterkenny Community Gymnastics Club.

Hockey: David Buchanan (Raphoe Hockey Club), William Fitzpatrick (Raphoe Hockey Club), Matthew Lecky (Raphoe Hockey Club).

Martial Arts: Denise Donagey (Aileach Karate Club), Kathleen McNaught, Stephen McLaughlin.

Motor Sport: David Doherty (Buncrana), Donagh Kelly and Kevin Flanagan; Garry McElhinney and Darragh Kelly; Jessica Orr (Letterkenny), Rhys Irwin (Errigal Motocross Club).

Rugby: Nora Stapleton (Fahan).

Soccer: Ciara Grant (Kilmacrennan Celtic), Kyle Callan - McFadden (Swilly Rovers), Liam O'Donnell (Cockhill Celtic), Nigel McMonagle (Moville Celtic), Philip Buchanan (Kilmacrennan Celtic), Tanya Kennedy (Finn Valley); Surfing: Iarom Madden Travers, John Britton, Nicole Morgan.

Swimming: Emma Vaughan (Swilly Seals), Kirsty McIlwaine (Swilly Seals), Leon Vaughan (Swilly Seals); Tennis: Mary Barry (Ramelton Tennis Club).

Triathlon: Adam Speer (Letterkenny 24-7), Gavin Crawford (Letterkenny 24-7), Paul McIntyre (Letterkenny 24-7).

Team Award: CLG An Tearmainn Senior Ladies Team; CLG Naomh Conaill Senior Mens Team; Cockhill Celtic FC; Donegal Ladies GAA Team; Donegal Men's County Dart Team; Illies Celtic U-11 girls; Illies Golden Gloves ABC; Lagan Harps Ladies Soccer Team; Letterkenny Golf Club Mens Team;

Letterkenny Outdoor Bowling Club.

Appreciation Award: Brid McGinty (Lagan Harps), Donal O'Brien (Cockhill Celtic FC), Gabriel Crawford (Lagan Harps), Michael Naughton (Donegal Ladies GAA team), Peter O'Donnell (Raphoe Boxing Club); Stephen Friel (Illies Golden Gloves ABC), Tommy Harkin (Fanad United); Brendan McDaid.

Memorial Special Achievement Award: Anne Marie Ward (North Channel Swim).

Olympic Recognition Award: Emily Greenan (Letterkenny), Mark English (Letterkenny).

Best Secondary School: Gairmscoil na Carraige, Moville Community College, St Eunan's College Letterkenny:.

Best Sports Boy - Secondary: Anthony Blair (Pobal Scoil Ghaoth Dobhair), Aodhn Hickey (St Eunan's College Letterkenny), Colm McLaughlin (Scoil Mhuire Buncrana), Daryl Moran (Scoil Mhuire Buncrana),

Karl Griffin (Abbey Vocational School), Leigh Moran (Scoil Mhuire Buncrana), Mark English (St Eunan's College Letterkenny), Mark Timlin Scoil Mhuire, Buncrana.

Best Sports Girl - Secondary: Amber Barrett (Community School Milford), Carla McBride (Mulroy College Milford), Caroline N Shearcaigh (Pobalscoil Ghaoth Dobhair), Catherine Boyle (Loreto Convent Letterkenny), Ciara Grant (Loreto Convent Letterkenny), Claire Brady (Abbey Vocational School), Emily Greenan (Loreto Convent Letterkenny), Geraldine McLaughlin (Loreto Convent Letterkenny), Kaneshia McKinney (Loreto Convent Letterkenny), Lauren Harper (Loreto Convent Letterkenny), Maria Carr (Loreto Convent Letterkenny),

Rose Boyle (Loreto Convent Letterkenny).

Best Primary School: Ballyraine NS Letterkenny, Gaelscoil Adhamhnain Leitir Ceanainn, Kilmacrennan NS, Lurgybrack NS Letterkenny, Scoil Naomh Fionan Whitecastle Quigleys Point, Scoil Eoghain Moville, St Muras NS Tooban Burnfoot, St Patrick's Boys NS Carndonagh.

Best Sports Boy - Primary: Davin Orr (Scoil Comlcille Letterekenny), Denver Kelly (St Muras NS Tooban), Niall O'Donnell (Scoil Comlcille Letterekenny), Stefan McCrossan (St Mary's NS Stranorlar).

Best Sports Girl - Primary: Arlene Crossan (Lurgybrack NS Letterkenny), Denise McLaughlin (St Muras NS Tooban), Karen Kelly (St Muras NS Tooban), Leanne Kelly (St Muras NS Tooban), Roma McLaughlin (Scoil Eoghain Moville), Sarah Jane Porter (St Muras NS Tooban).

Best Sports Teacher - Secondary: Martina Gormley (St Eunan's College Letterkenny), Seamus Gallagher (Moville Community College).

Best Sports Teacher - Primary: Mire U Bhraoin (Gaelscoil Adhamhnain, Leitir Ceanainn), Manus O'Donnell (St Muras NS Tooban), Nuala Lafferty (Scoil Naomh Fionan Whitecastle Quigleys Point).

Hall of Fame Winner: Eunan ‘Busty' Blake (Letterkenny Rovers).

If you have a story or want to send a photo or video to us please contact the Donegal Live editorial team any time. To contact Donegal Democrat and Donegal People's Press, email To contact Donegal Post, email To contact Inish Times, email

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.