Centra Supermarkets U-21 final (2010)

Centra Supermarkets U-21 final (2010)

Centra Supermarkets U-21 final (2010)

Close contest expected


Almost eleven months to the day when they locked horns in the 2009 U-21 final, St. Michael's and Naomh Conaill are due to collide again this Sunday to decide the destination of the 2010 U-21 championship title.

They both return to O'Donnell Park, St. Michael's as champions and Naomh Conaill as challengers in a role reversal from this time last year.

St. Michael's caused something of an upset when they emerged seven points winners - 0-13 to 0-6 - to capture the club's first ever U-21 crown. In the process they ended Naomh Conaill's bid for a fourth crown in-a-row.

But Naomh Conaill are back in their fifth final in succession with Leo McLoone snr. once again calling the shots on the line and Leo junior orchestrating things on the park.

In all, Naomh Conaill have 11 of the 16 players that featured in last year's decider. Stephen McGrath once again mans the goals while defenders Ciaran Boyle, Stephen Molloy, Jamie Gallagher, Cathal Ellis are still around.

As are Leo McLoone (jun), Jamie Molloy, Dermot ‘Brick' Molloy, Seamus Corcoran, A.J. Gallagher, and Jamie McHugh.

McHugh was a regular member of last year's starting 15 until he broke his collarbone in the Ulster U-21 semi-final in Portglenone and only made the final coming off the bench in the closing minutes of last year's final.

"With the seniors long run in Ulster and the weather and a number of the lads committed with the county it has not been easy and we have not got an awful lot of work with the squad. And I think we showed that against Kilcar on Saturday (in the semi-final). We were a little rusty and not in the best of shape," said Leo McLoone senior.

Naomh Conaill defeated wasteful Kilcar 0-6 to 0-4 in the semi-final and looked far from impressive.

St. Michael's, too, had just two points to spare at the end of their last four meeting with Gaoth Dobhair on Sunday week last in O'Donnell Park. Ironically they also emerged 0-6 to 0-4 winners.

No more than Naomh Conaill, St. Michael's boast of a quite a few of last year's all-conquering side. Martin McElhinney and Martin Breslin are the only players out of bounds on age grounds, while a cruciate injury means Patrick McFadden is unavailable to Colm McFadden senior. Denis Horan is studying in London and has not appeared so far in the campaign.

Last year's goalkeeper Mark Anthony McGinley is another player that is still eligible but has not featured so far. However, Colm McFadden was this week not ruling out the club's senior net minder making an appearance on Sunday.

"Thankfully we have no injuries and have a fully fit squad; with the exception of Patrick McFadden we have everybody else. We had a good workout against the Vocational Schools team at the weekend and we are ready to go. We are looking forward to the final and giving it our best shot and see how it goes," insisted Colm McFadden,

Michael Cannon, who led the attack from centre-forward in last year's final, has been between the posts so far in the campaign.

Interestingly Cannon lined out in the attack against the Donegal Vocational School team in a challenge game on Sunday afternoon.

As well as Cannon, Stephen Doak, Ben Kyle, Antoin McFadden, Ryan Langan, Andrew Kelly, Daniel McLaughlin, Raymond McLaughlin, John McFadden and Barry McGinley all featured in last February's historic first major.

Of the two St. Michael's probably have shown the marginally better form so far. But with revenge on Naomh Conaill minds, it may be enough to tip the scales.

Verdict: Naomh Conaill.

Paths to the final

St. Michael's

1st. round - Oct. 30, Dunfanaghy,

St. Michael's 1-12, St. Eunans 0-7

Quarter-final: Dec 31, Termon

St. Michael's 0-12, Glneswilly 0-8

Semi-final: Jan 16, O'Donnell Park

St. Michael's 0-6, Gaoth Dobhair 0-4

Naomh Conaill

1st. round: Dec 31, Davy Brennan Memorial Park

Naomh Conaill 1-8, Four Masters 1-7

Quarter-final: Naomh Conaill w/o Sean MacCumhaills

Semi-final: Jan 22, Fintra

Naomh Conaill 0-6, Kilcar 0-4

Ciaran Boyle and Raymond McLaughlin will be up close and personal again on Sunday.

If you have a story or want to send a photo or video to us please contact the Donegal Live editorial team any time. To contact Donegal Democrat and Donegal People's Press, email editorial@donegaldemocrat.ie To contact Donegal Post, email editor@donegalpost.com To contact Inish Times, email editor@inishtimes.com.

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.