Four Masters blown away in second half by Ardara at Pearse Park

Four Masters blown away in second half by Ardara at Pearse Park

Ardara went through three 'keepers but still came out on the right side of the result against a disappointing Four Masters at a windswept and cold Pearse Park, Ardara.

Ardara 2-9
Four Masters 1-5

The Donegal town side didn't raise a flag of any kind in the second half against the strong wind that blew from the town to the sea.
They led by six points coming up to half-time - 1-5 to 0-2, but a late point followed by a CJ Molloy goal turned the game in Ardara's favour.
Kevin McBrearty opened the scoring for Four Masters but Lorcan O'Donnell and CJ Molloy replied for Ardara by the 10th minute.
Then Four Masters hit the next 1-4, points from Conor McDaid (3), Conor McMonagle and a goal from Paddy Reid, direct from a '45'. Ardara had lost Ciaran Gildea in the warm-up, and in the scramble for the goal his replacement in goal Patrick Gavigan was injured, which resulted in Oisin Brennan coming in.
In added time at the end of the first half Gareth Concarr hit Ardara's second point and a minute later after a couple of efforts were saved CJ Molloy fired the rebound to the Four Masters net to leave it 1-5 to 1-3 in Four Masters' favour at the break.
With the wind behind them Ardara took control with points from Lorcan O'Donnell, Declan Gavigan (from fully 60 yards and a bounce) and Concarar before Conor Classon set up Concarr for the second goal to put them on their way.
In the final 10 minutes Lorcan O'Donnell (2) and Shane O'Donnell sealed the win.

ARDARA: Patrick Gavigan; Joe Melly, Declan Gavigan (0-1), Paddy McGrath; Brian Whyte, Kenneth Doherty, John Ross Molloy; Shane O'Donnell (0-1), Conor Classon; Lorcan O'Donnell (0-4), CJ Molloy (1-1), Danny Walsh; Gareth Concarr (1-2), Brendan McNelis, Tomas Boyle. Subs: Oisin Brennan for Gavigan; Matthew Maher for K Doherty; Jack Brennan for B McNelis; Nicholas Maguire for T Boyle; Peter McHugh for Concarr.

FOUR MASTERS: Martin Cassidy; Cathal Canavan, Conor Rooney, Brian Fegan; John Boyle, Dylan Kennedy, Kevin Breslin; Paddy Reid (1-0, '45'), Kevin McBrearty (0-1); Conor McMonagle (0-1), Aaron McCrea, Jamie Crawford; Conor McDaid (0-3,1f), Oisin Reid, Emmet Doogan. Sub: Barry Dunnion.

REFEREE: Niall McCready (Aodh Ruadh)

If you have a story or want to send a photo or video to us please contact the Donegal Live editorial team any time. To contact Donegal Democrat and Donegal People's Press, email To contact Donegal Post, email To contact Inish Times, email

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.