Donegal's Karen Guthrie named on Division One team of the year

Glenfin star the county's sole representative on end of season team

Karen Guthrie

Donegal's Karen Guthrie who has been selected on the Team of the Year for 2019

Donegal's Karen Guthrie has been named on the Lidl Ladies National Football League team of Division 1.

The Glenfin star is the county's sole representative on a team that is dominated by players from league champions Cork.

The team was chosen by the LGFA’s All-Star committee with five counties represented in the final selection.

Seven players from Cork are included while beaten league finalists Galway have four. Dublin have two players in the side while Donegal and Tipperary have one player each. 

Guthrie enjoyed a brilliant year in the colours of Donegal. It was a campaign that started with Donegal recording a 1-11 to 1-7 win over Dublin in Croke Park. Guthrie, the Donegal captain, scored 1-4 in a player-of-the-match performance.

Division 1 Lidl NFL Team of the League:

Martina O’Brien (Cork)
Martha Byrne (Dublin)
Hannah Looney (Cork)
Melissa Duggan (Cork)
Shauna Kelly (Cork)
Sinéad Burke (Galway)
Charlotte Cooney (Galway)
Louise Ward (Galway)
Niamh Cotter (Cork)
Karen Guthrie (Donegal)
Niamh McEvoy (Dublin)
Aishling Moloney (Tipperary)
Eimear Scally (Cork)
Róisín Leonard (Galway)
Orla Finn (Cork)

If you have a story or want to send a photo or video to us please contact the Donegal Live editorial team any time. To contact Donegal Democrat and Donegal People's Press, email To contact Donegal Post, email To contact Inish Times, email

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.