ALL THE STATS: Hectic action for Donegal with Super 8s start against Meath

ALL THE STATS: Hectic action for Donegal with Super 8s start against Meath

It’s down to the last eight in the GAA football All-Ireland championship, with the first phase of the quarter-finals lined up for next weekend. Five of the counties that reached the ‘Super 8s’ last year have returned this season: Dublin, Kerry, Tyrone, Roscommon, Donegal. They are joined by Cork, Meath and Mayo.

Next weekend’s line-up is as follows:


Group 2: Roscommon v Tyrone, Dr. Hyde Park, 5.0; Dublin v Cork, Croke Park, 7.0


Group 1: Donegal v Meath, Ballybofey, 2.0; Kerry v Mayo, Fitzgerald Stadium, 4.0


They meet in the championship for the fourth time. Meath won the 1990 All-Ireland semi-final (3-9 to 1-7) while Donegal won All-Ireland qualifiers (1-13 to 0-14) in 2002 and 2017 (Donegal 1-15 Meath 1-14).



Donegal 0-15 Fermanagh 0-9

Donegal 1-16 Tyrone 0-15

Donegal 1-24 Cavan 2-16 (Ulster final)

Top scorers

Jamie Brennan..........2-11

Paddy McBrearty.....0-13 (0-4 frees)

Michael Murphy ......0-11 (0-4 frees, 0-1 ‘45’)


Meath 1-13 Offaly 0-14

Meath 2-18 Carlow 0-9

Meath 3-13 Laois 0-11

Dublin 1-17 Meath 0-4 (Leinster final)

Meath 2-16 Clare 1-18

Top Scorers

Mickey Newman...........3-20 (0-13 frees, 1-0 pen)

Bryan Menton................3-5

James Conlon................0-12

Bryan McMahon...........1-4

Cillian O’Sullivan..........0-7

* Donegal lost to Dublin and Tyrone and beat Roscommon in last year’s ‘Super 8s’.

* Meath were last in the quarter-finals in 2010.

* Donegal and Meath met twice in this year’s Allianz League (Division 2) with the Ulster men winning both by two points. They won a Round 2 game by 1-13 to 1-14 and, after both had secured promotion, Donegal won the final by 1-17 to 1-15.


They last met in the championship in 2017 when Mayo won an All-Ireland semi-final replay by five points. The 2014 semi-final also went to a replay, with Kerry winning by three points after extra-time.



Kerry 1-15 Clare 0-12

Kerry 1-19 Cork 3-10 (Munster final)

Top Scorers

Sean O’Shea..... .........0-13 (0-11 frees)

David Clifford.............0-7 (0-2 frees)

James O’Donoghue...1-1

Tom O’Sullivan...........1-1


Mayo 1-22 New York 0-4

Roscommon 2-12 Mayo 0-17

Mayo 1-16 Down 1-11

Mayo 2-13 Armagh 1-15

Mayo 2-13 Galway 1-13

Top Scorers

Darren Coen......0-13

Conor Loftus ...1-6 (0-5 frees)

James Carr........2-2

Cillian O’Connor....0-8 (0-7 frees)

Fionn McDonagh....1-3

Kevin McLoughlin...1-3


2017: Mayo 2-16 Kerry 0-17 (All-Ireland semi-final) Replay

2017: Kerry 2-14 Galway 2-14 (All-Ireland semi-final) Draw

2014: Kerry 3-16 Mayo 3-13 aet (All-Ireland semi-final) Replay

2014: Kerry 1-16 Mayo 1-16 All-Ireland semi-final) Draw

2011: Kerry 1-20 Mayo 1-11 (All-Ireland semi-final)

* Kerry lost to Galway, drew with Monaghan beat Kildare in last year’s ‘Super 8s’.

* Mayo were last in the quarter-finals two years ago when they beat Roscommon in a replay.

* Kerry and Mayo met twice in this year’s Allianz League, with Mayo winning both. They won a Round 6 game by 1-10 to 0-11 and the final by 3-11 to 2-10.

If you have a story or want to send a photo or video to us please contact the Donegal Live editorial team any time. To contact Donegal Democrat and Donegal People's Press, email To contact Donegal Post, email To contact Inish Times, email

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.