Just a point between them as Bundoran edge out Termon at the Burn Road

Alan Russell hits the winner for the visitors

Termon v Bundoran

Bundoran's Cian McEniff in possession against Termon in Sunday's Group D encounter

There was a big win for Bundoran at the Burn Road on Sunday afternoon with Alan Russell’s injury time point giving the Seasiders a significant boost in their bid to reach the quarter-finals of the Donegal Senior Football Championship.

Termon . . .  0-11

Bundoran  . . . 0-12

This Group D defeat is major setback for Termon in what was a close contest from start to finish with the hosts leading 0-7 to 0-6 at the break.

However, against the breeze, Termon struggled for periods of the second half and the visitors quickly went from a point down to to go 0-9 to 0-6 in front courtesy of two Gary Clancy points and one from county player Jamie Brennan.

The star forward had a relatively quiet game and missed a couple of decent chances in the final quarter that could have made the margin of victory a bit more comfortable for Niall Dunne’s side.

Fellow county man Paul Brennan was fortunate to get away with a yellow card on 47 minutes as he tried to break clear of a tackle from Aidan Sweeney.

It was Termon who had the goal chances with Aidan Sweeney being denied by a brilliant goal-line block by Bundoran full-back Paul Murphy just before the hour mark.

Then on the stroke of full-time, keeper Conor Carty did well to parry an effort from sub Anthony Grant but there was an element of good fortune as the ball rebounded off a defender and out for a 45m free which Enda McCormick converted to level the score at 0-11 apiece.

But, the visitors broke quickly from the resultant kick-out and Russell was on the end of an excellent move to lift the ball over the bar for what proved to be the match winning score.

Termon: Michael Boyle; Oisin Cassidy, Caolan Gallagher, Nathan McElwaine; Barry Gallagher, Kevin McDaid, Steve McElwaine; Johnny McCafferty, Aidan Sweeney; Ryan McFadden, Christy Conaghan, Enda McCormick (0-9, 3fs, 2 '45s); Caolan McDaid (0-1), Ricky Gallagher, Sean O’Donnell (0-1).

Subs: James McSharry for McCafferty 41, Anthony Grant for C Conaghan 55, Daniel Conaghan for O’Donnell 57.

Bundoran: Conor Carty; Matthew Duffy, Paul Murphy, Adam Gallagher; Johnny Boyle, Shane McGowan, Oisin Walsh; Cian McEniff, Niall Carr; Timmy Govorov (0-2), Paul Brennan, Alan Russell (0-3); Gary Clancy (0-3, f), Jamie Brennan (0-2), Michael McEniff (0-2).

Sub: Tommy Hourrihane for Carr 55.

Referee: Seamus McGonagle.

Linesmen: Mark Dorrian, Dermot McColgan.

If you have a story or want to send a photo or video to us please contact the Donegal Live editorial team any time. To contact Donegal Democrat and Donegal People's Press, email editorial@donegaldemocrat.ie To contact Donegal Post, email editor@donegalpost.com To contact Inish Times, email editor@inishtimes.com.

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.