St Eunan's annihilate Bundoran to easily make the last four in the Donegal senior championship

St Eunan's annihilate Bundoran to easily make the last four in the Donegal senior championship

Brian McIntyre named man of the match against Bundoran

As massacres go, this was the GAA version of Little Big Horn as an exciting and exhilarating St Eunan’s demolished a surprisingly tepid challenge from Bundoran.

St Eunan’s 8-11

Realt na Mara Bundoran 0-6

The winners hit eight goals and they were not flattered, as the visitors defence was as wide open at times as Bundoran on a 12th weekend.

This was no real test for a clever and composed Eunan’s side who showed great energy and invention throughout.

The winners were in command right from the start and this contest was really well over by half-time.

Niall O’Donnell, Pauric McGettigan and Sean McGettigan grabbed the goals for Eunan’s in the first half.

And Caolan Ward, Eoin McGeehin, super sub Conor O’Donnell (Jnr), Niall O’Donnell (penalty) and O’Donnell (Jnr) finished the rout in the ten final moments

It got even worse for the losers when they lost Shane McGowan and sub Diarmuid Spratt to straight red cards for striking actions in the second half.

Rory Kavanagh started at midfield for Eunan’s for the first time in the championship and he was very influential in the opening half.

But Bundoran’s talisman Jamie Brennan was well contained by Letterkenny’s Aaron Deeney.

And Bundoran simply had simply no answers to the power and pace of Eunan’s who have extra power in Pauric and Sean McGettigan.

But this is one game the Seasiders will want to forget.

Caolan Ward set the tone for Eunan’s early dominance as he veered through and hit a fine point for the home side in the third minute.

This was quickly followed by a sweeping move that ended with Aaron Deeney cleverly setting up Niall O’Donnell who struck a fine point for the winners.

It got even better for Richard Thornton’s men when a “Garryowen” from Pauric McGettigan was not dealt with by the Bundoran defence and O’Donnell pounced and swept the ball to the net in the 7th minute.

Eunan’s were really cruising and there was very little cover for the Bundoran defence as James Kelly pointed to make it 1-3 to 0-0 by the 10th minute.

Bundoran looked nervous and had three shots into Letterkenny keeper Shaun Patton’s hand and hit one wide.

Pauric McGettigan converted a 35 metre free for the winners just before the first water break.

Eunan’s underlined their obvious advantage on the resumption as McGeehin won possession well and fed the inrushing Sean McGettigan who cooly picked his spot for a second goal.

Bundoran did not open their account until the 26th minute when Alan Russell pointed for the Seasiders.

Eoin McGeehin added to thelead as Gary Clancy added another point for the badly outgunned losers.

Paul Brennan added another point for Bundoran before Eunan’s hit them with another hammer blow in the 28th minute.

Shane O’Donnell made a big run and found Eoin McGeehin who set up Pauric McGettigan who had a simple palm to the back of the net which left Eunan’s leading by 3-6 to 0-3 at the break.

And they were to add another five goals in a most one-sided second half with four goals coming in the last ten minutes.

Caolan Ward had the freedom of the park as he strolled through for St Eunan’s fourth goal in the 33rd minute. 

A melee erupted in the 35th minute which resulted in Bundoran’s Shane McGowan getting a straight red card and Letterkenny’s Peter Devine got a black card as a result of that commotion.

The remainder of the half was a complete canter for the winners with sub Conor O’Donnell impressing for the winners with two goals in extra time and he set up a goal for Brian McIntyre as well.

Niall O’Donnell cooly converted a penalty in a very composed performance and he is the oldest of the six forwards who started

And now Eunan’s meet Naomh Conaill in their greatest test to date.

But Bundoran certainly did not do themselves justice, but this young Letterkenny side have something special.

 ST EUNAN’S: Shaun Patton; Peter Devine, Eamon Doherty, Aaron Deeney; Caolan  Ward (1-1), Darragh Mulgrew, Peter McEniff (0-1); Rory Kavanagh, Sean McGettigan (1-0); James Kelly (0-1) Niall O’Donnell (2-2,1f,pen) Shane O’Donnell; Brian McIntyre (0-3) Pauric McGettigan (1-2,1f), Eoin McGeehin (1-1). Subs; Dara Toal, Sean McVeigh and Kevin Kealy for Rory Kavanagh, Caolan and James Kelly (46), Conor O’Donnell (Jnr) (2-0) for Pauric McGettigan (47), Conor Moore for Aaron Deeney (51).

REALT NA MARA: Ashley Mulhern; Matthew Duffy, Johnny Boyle, Niall Carr; Oisin Walsh, Peter McGonigle, Paul Brennan (0-1); Michael McEniff (0-1), Ciaran McCaughey; Alan Russell (0-1) Shane McGowan, Timmy Govorov; Jamie Brennan (0-1,f) Gary Clancy (0-2) Cian McEniff. Subs:  Diarmuid Spratt for Timmy Govorov (41), Darragh Hoey for Michael McEniff (47) James Stewart for Peter McGonigle (51), Tommy Hourihane for Paul Brennan (56), Michael McEniff for Oisin Walsh (58)

REFEREE: Mark Dorrian (Gaeil Fhánada)

If you have a story or want to send a photo or video to us please contact the Donegal Live editorial team any time. To contact Donegal Democrat and Donegal People's Press, email To contact Donegal Post, email To contact Inish Times, email

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.