Winners galore for Donegal jockeys at various racecourses last week

Winners galore for Donegal jockeys at various racecourses last week

A 25th winner of the season for Dylan Browne McMonagle as Prime Chief win for trainer Jarlath Fahey at Cork on Tuesday. Photo: Patrick McCann/Racing Post

Dylan Browne McMonagle notched up his 25th winner of the season with a cosy success on the Jarlath Fahey-trained Prime Chief in the opening division of the 10f handicap at Cork on Tuesday. A strong 9/4 favourite, the five-year-old scored by a length and a half from Miss Lousie and was also a 30th career winner for the Letterkenny apprentice.
Conor Orr rode his first winner of the week when partnering Colonel Lesley, trained in County Cork by James Dullea, to a narrow success in the 2m handicap hurdle at Tramore on Thursday. Orr got the 9/2 chance home by half a length from the John Berry-trained Caddy Shack.
Luke McAteer landed a double at Leopardstown on Friday afternoon. He partnered the Ger O’Leary-trained 13/2 chance Adamaris to win the second division of the 8f handicap and followed up on the Pat Murphy-trained Angel Palanas, the 11/2 winner of the 7f handicap.
Conor Orr was back in the number one spot at Ballinrobe on Saturday where he rode another winner for a County Cork trainer. He took the opportunity handicap chase on the gambled-on 9/4 favourite Chatham Street Lad for Kanturk trainer Michael Winters. The eight-year-old had not run for 463 days but made light of the absence as he beat the John Ryan-trained Bitview Colin a little easier than the three-parts of a length margin might suggest.
Dylan Browne McMonagle made it two winners for the week when he partnered the Joseph O'Brien-trained Dance Jupiter to win the 10f handicap at Naas on Sunday. It was pretty straightforward for the 2/1 favourite which came from off the pace to score by two and a quarter lengths from the Jim Bolger-trained McCabe.

Upcoming Meetings
Gowran Park – Monday, October 19 (First Race 2.05pm)
Tipperary – Tuesday, October 20 (First Race 2.15pm)
Fairyhouse – Tuesday, October 20 (First Race 1.20pm)
Gowran Park – Wednesday, October 21 (First Race 1.45pm)
Navan – Thursday, October 22 (First Race 1.20pm)
Thurles – Thursday, October 22 (First Race 1pm)
Dundalk – Friday, October 23 (First Race 4.40pm)
Sligo – Friday, October 23 (First Race 2pm)
Leopardstown – Saturday, October 24 (First Race 1.20pm)
Galway – Saturday, October 24 (First Race 1.40pm)
Galway, Sunday, October 25 (First Race 12.40pm)
Wexford, Sunday, October 25 (First Race 1pm)

If you have a story or want to send a photo or video to us please contact the Donegal Live editorial team any time. To contact Donegal Democrat and Donegal People's Press, email To contact Donegal Post, email To contact Inish Times, email

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.