New board for Donegal Macra

At the recent AGM of Donegal Macra County Executive a new county executive  were elected for the coming Macra year.

At the recent AGM of Donegal Macra County Executive a new county executive  were elected for the coming Macra year.

With six clubs registered in the county, an increase in membership and activity among current members was reported by clubs.  It was fantastic to see a large turnout for the AGM with many of the committee positions shared among the four most active clubs, NorthDonegal, FoyleSwilly, SouthDonegal and ProperJob Macra. DaleValley and Finn Valley Macra make up the 6 clubs in the county.

Steven Kilpatrick of the ‘ProperJob Macra Club’ from Raphoe has been elected Chairperson for the county. With Hollie Patterson re-elected as County Secretary. They are joined by Christine Patterson as Public Relations Officer (PRO) , Mandi Spence (ProperJob Macra Club ) Competitions Chairperson and Kevin Mc Laughlin of FoyleSwilly club as County Treasurer.  Marie Barron from the newly established South Donegal club has taken over the role of Sports, Social and Travel Officer.  Marie already this month organised a very successful county exchange & social night at the Donegal Live event. Other officer roles were taken up by Michelle Doherty, David Wilson, Cecelia Sheridan, Donna Gallagher, Kevin Gallagher and Tommy Mc Nally.

Siobhan Coyle from the NorthDonegal Macra club was elected to the position of National Council Representative for Donegal.  Siobhan takes over from Hilary Browne (DaleValley) who had served as NCR for Donegal for the last 10 years. Hilary was thanked for her hard work over the years keeping Macra active at a time when membership in the county was faltering.  As the 2012-2014 NCR Siobhan will also sit on the National Rural affairs committee. She has also been co-opted onto the National finance committee.  Marie Barron has been co-opted onto the National Agricultural Affairs committee. Kieron O’ Dowd (Macra Northwest Vice-President) welcomed, Siobhan and Marie to the national council and its sub-committees.

Speaking after AGM, the new County Chairman, Steven, thanked the outgoing committee for their stellar work over the last few years in bringing Donegal Macra to such a strong position both locally and nationally.

For further information on Macra in your area contact Vincent Roddy on 0876837408. email: or check them out on Facebook.

If you have a story or want to send a photo or video to us please contact the Donegal Live editorial team any time. To contact Donegal Democrat and Donegal People's Press, email To contact Donegal Post, email To contact Inish Times, email

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.