Deele College win Secondary School Drama Festival

The Butt Drama Circle held their annual Secondary Schools Drama Festival last week in the Balor Theatre, Ballybofey.

The Butt Drama Circle held their annual Secondary Schools Drama Festival last week in the Balor Theatre, Ballybofey.

The festival opened on Wednesday, November with Falcarragh Community School’s production of an original script entitled “Ain’t I a Woman”. Written and directed by Paul Bonar, this was a stylish and powerful piece of drama.

Deele College, Raphoe then took to the stage with another original script written by director Mick Hogan. “The Lion’s Lair” was an hilarious and topical comedy.

Opening night was brought to a close by Loreto College, Letterkenny. The Second Years presented a very educational show in a fun, musical way in “Material Girls.”

The festival continued on Thursday, November 15 with “What’s For You, Won’t Pass You”. Directed by Conor Beattie and performed by Transition Year students from Coláiste Cholmcille, the play examined the dilemma of a teenager who must decide whether to take the opportunity of an internship in New York or stay at home remaining loyal to her boyfriend.

The final production was directed by a Transition Year student from St. Columba’s College, Stranorlar. Aoife Browne was ambitious in tackling an extract from “The Importance of Being Earnest” by Oscar Wilde but she was very successful in realising the scene while also performing in it.

Maura Logue adjudicated the festival, giving feedback on both nights before making the difficult decisions and awarding the trophies, plaques and certificates on the final night. Ms. Logue commented on the high standard of acting in this year’s festival and also remarked on the common theme of women’s place in society which emerged throughout the various genres of drama.

Deele College, Raphoe were awarded First Place and also took home the trophy for Best Director Mick Hogan. Second place went to Coláiste Cholmcille, Ballyshannon and Falcarragh Community School took third as well as Best Production. Acting awards went to Katie Porter from Raphoe and to the Aoife Dolan of Colaiste Cholmcillle. Gavin McDaid, Aidan O’Donnell and Edward Gallagher of Colaiste Cholmcille won an award for Best Moment of Theatre while Eoin Callaghan, Martin Towey and Shaun Friel of Deele College won the Best Entertainment Award. Gareth Ferguson and Adam Duncan of Colaiste Cholmcille walked away with the Best Lighting and Sound award while Loreto College, Letterkenny won Best Ensemble. Aoife Browne of St. Columba’s College won a Young Director Award. Certificates were also awarded for other achievements.

Mr Beattie praised the Colaiste Cholmcille students for their hard work while Mr Hogan said “history was made” when Deele College captured the prestigious Anthony Timoney trophy for Overall Winners for the first time ever.

The Colaiste Cholmcille performance can be seen on the school YouTube channel, ccbstv.

If you have a story or want to send a photo or video to us please contact the Donegal Live editorial team any time. To contact Donegal Democrat and Donegal People's Press, email To contact Donegal Post, email To contact Inish Times, email

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.